We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love everything about L.May!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L.May Eatery

L.May Eatery
1072 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
563.556.0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L.May Eatery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 170 restaurants in Dubuque
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th & Main
Description: A new romantic bistro on the historic 1000 block of Main Street in Dubuque IA. L. May Eatery serves fusion cuisine and pizza in Dubuque, Iowa in a romantic candlelit atmosphere. Enjoy our impeccable service table side or at our full bar. We also have an extensive wine list with anything from a quality glass of pinot to a great special occasion reserve bottle.
Bellevue, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love everything about L.May!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have seen it all from L.May Eatery and LOVE IT ALL! From the atmosphere, group events, date night, drinks & music, catering ... the staff is wonderful and food is amazing. Why do I keep going back? I love that the menu changes seasonally and there is always something new to try! THANK YOU L.May Eatery for your amazing service!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Wow, thank you so much for your enthusiastic review! We hope you will dine again soon, our new menu just came out! :) - Cheers, Lea Droessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    275
    68
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved the food, service, and attention to detail! This was my favorite restaurant in Dubuque! The filet mignon and the appetizers were amazing. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for supporting L.May! Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A charming, bustling bistro with a staff that is incredibly friendly and food that keeps you coming back for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We live outside of Dubuque, but whenever my husband and I make our way in to town we always seem to find ourselves at L.May. The restaurant itself has a quaint and charming atmosphere, the staff is always above-and-beyond friendly, and the meals are always fabulous! We have never had a dish we wouldn't order time and time again! Their homemade sangria is dangerously yummy and perfect in the summertime heat- and when it's a little to cool for sangria, there is always a great selection of wine and cocktails!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello and thank you for your great review of L.May, we hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Lea Droessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“As always...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

...a nice change of pace. Fine food, centrally located downtown, decent atmosphere(though at times a bit loud) and good bar service.

Food is very tasty and fun to look at and eat.
Service...well, waiter thought chit-chatting at another table was in order, before completing our service. Some did not notice, those waiting patiently did notice.

A good place for a relaxing meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi MagicoMexico,

We are so glad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere at L.May, and sorry that you found the service to be a bit slow. We hope you will come back for a visit again. Cheers, Lea Droessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Center, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food and time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a really great place to go in Dubuque. I was kind of weary because some top rated places can be mediocre, but this place has a good reputation for a reason. The perfect date restaurant, or even a night out with your friends. I honestly tasted flavors I had never before, it was perfection. Give L.May a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Leah,

Thanks so much for your review, we're glad we exceeded your expectations! We hope you come for another visit soon. Cheers, Lea Droessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L.May Eatery also viewed

 

Been to L.May Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L.May Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.