We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Des Moines airport Hampton Inn last weekend, and we had a very pleasant stay. It was 101 degrees in Des Moines the first day we were there, but our room was nice, clean and cool, the outdoor pool was refreshing, and for the price we truly had no complaints. I used Hilton Honors points the first night, and paid for the second night. It's a quick 5 minute drive to all the great restaurants downtown, or to the interstate. We also enjoyed Skip's restaurant nearby (we should've taken the free Hampton shuttle!). There's a huge HyVee grocery and liquor store three blocks away, in addition to a nice movie theater, Walgreens, and several other retail stores and fast food restaurants, so we liked the location. The fitness center is well equipped with nice equipment, a TV, and cold drinking water, but it could use a fan. We've stayed downtown previously, and while it's nice to be able to walk most places, the Hampton Inn has free parking, free breakfast, quiet rooms, and a convenient location, especially if you're using the airport. I only heard a few planes during daylight hours, which didn't bother either of us. The free breakfast is of average quality, but there are several items from which to choose. As with the Hampton Inn in Duluth, MN, we thought the coffee in the breakfast area is terrible. Make coffee in your room with the provided coffee and machine; it is noticeably better. (A Starbucks is about three blocks north, too.)The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback during your stay! I am glad that our location worked out for you, and yes, everything in the city is a 20 minute or less drive, so our location is great! We hope to see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    69
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
45
30
18
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Of the hotels that are reasonably priced and close to the airport this is the best one. Just wish they had some kind of edible food available in the hotel or close by for late night arrivals. The Perkins restaurant they recommended was horrible, but the actual hotel was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback during your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Personally, I do wish we would have a better mix of restaurants in our area, especially given that the airport is nearby. Our local restaurants are great, but the mix of familiar restaurants are somewhat weak. That said, we hope to see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel after a late night flight into Des Moines. The hotel is a typical Hampton setup, so no surprises there. The hotel was rather hot, so it took some time to get the room cooled off for the evening. Still, it is just a second to get from the airport, and rather close to the interstate should you need it the next morning. Overall, nothing fancy, but a decent place to lay your head for the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad that we were able to accommodate to your needs. It is very convenient being just across the street from the airport! We hope to see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stay at a lot of Hamptons and have been here previously. It's starting to lose its grip on being up to Hampton standards, and isn't quite as nice as it was when we were here 5 or so years ago.

It was a bit of a flashback when we walked into the room, because it looked exactly the same as the like time we were here. And the room itself was perfectly functional. Again, a bit dated compared to most Hamptons, but everything worked. We were in a non-smoking room, but much of the rest of the floor was comprised of smoking rooms and the hallway just reeked. I was a bit concerned that it might drift into our room, but thankfully that wasn't an issue.

It took me a bit to realize they did indeed have a business center, as it's kind of hidden away on the 2nd floor. The breakfast area is fine. Again, a bit dark for a Hampton. (The newer ones are just brighter and more wide open.)

This one worked in a pinch, but we'll probably aim for the West Des Moines location on future trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. I would like to announce that we are undergoing renovations this fall (2013), and our rooms and corridors will receive a complete makeover! We renovated our lobby in 2012, therefore, as a result, the business center was moved from the lobby to the second floor. We hope that you will give us another try when future travels bring you to Des Moines! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Basic, room was clean, water pressure was good, breakfast was the standard HI breakfast. The fitness center had a bike and weights so that is a plus. Even though located right across from the hotel, I did not hear a plane all night. Exactly the type of in and out hotel I look for.

Room Tip: the front is on Fleur, right across from the airport. The back of the hotel is more isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay with us! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I always stay here when i am in town. The rooms are clean and quiet. ..........The staff is attentive and courteous. ..............It is right across from the airport and yet i never hear any planes go over.It has a shuttle to airport and it is only minutes from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us! I appreciate the kind words, and we strive to do our best to provide excellent customer service for our guests! I am glad you had a great stay! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was my second stay The building is a little older but it must have been built knowing the airport was a stones throw away. Never heard a plane or anything else for that matter since I stayed on a Friday eve during state fair I was pleased to find no noise. The breakfast was typical for Hampton. The rooms seem a little smaller than most Hampton's but not tiny. Some dust could have been cleaned out of the vent and the dome light in bathroom had some dirt but these were minor. I travel with a cpap unlike recent stays at a different Hampton and a Crowne Plaza this room did not have the extra plug upgrade near the bed I needed to unplug a lamp to run the cpap

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay with us. I would like to inform you that we are undergoing renovations this fall, and hope to have new outlets installed for easier guest access! We also have the USB Power Station that includes additional outlets on our endtables! We hope to see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Address: 5001 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#7 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel!Here at the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel we strive to provide each and every guest with superior accommodations and unrivaled service.We are conveniently located directly across from the Des Moines International Airport and just under 4 miles from the center of Downtown. Our ideal location allows access to many area businesses and local attractions, such as Wells Fargo Arena at the Iowa Events Center.We Love Having You Here!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport Iowa
Des Moines Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.