We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-flight hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6111 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pre-flight hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before we flew to Puerto Rico. Check in was a breeze. A bit far from rooms to lobby. Nice little cafe/store near pool area. The pool area has some seating and a gated whirlpool. Shuttle took us to airport and when we returned they also drove us to our Park 'n' Fly vehicle. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
27
12
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business purposes. I always find it clean and well managed. The attached Bennigans restaurant is very good. The hotel also has a small cafe/store that is great for grabbing a quick bite. I am always treated very well and enjoy my time spent there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel next to the airport is in a great location (airport), but is a bit dated - and has been updated the best they can. The price was a bit high too. My recommendation, if you need to be next to the airport, it's perfect. If not, probably wouldn't go back.

I'm a Holiday Inn Platinum Preferred member, so I know they gave me one of the best rooms they have. It was OK (renovated), but definitely not new. Also, the bar is weak, and there is some sort of 'holidome' that is right out of the 70's. Work out room was average at best. They do have a nice diner / deli that serves hot / fresh food and other items. Breakfast (omelette) was awesome.

Nice people, good location. Would I stay there again? No, unless I needed to be very close to the airport.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the Holidome. Can be loud at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear MilwaukeeMarkTravels,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at the hotel the night before our trip to Las Vegas to beat the snow storm and be close to the airport. Perfect plan as the hotel is across the street from the airport. A big plus was the long-term parking in the hotel parking lot and the free shuttle service to and from the airport. Our room was a little more expensive due to the parking option, but less expensive than the airport long-term parking lots. We enjoyed both the hotel lounge and food outlet while it raged a decent size snow storm outside. The food operation was fast food and had a variety of cuisine options. We thought this unusual for a larger chain hotel, but it served the purpose albeit at a lower quality level of both food and service. It was however satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Walking in the front door you know you're at a Holiday Inn. The smell of smoke and chlorine meets you head on. This is an older hotel that has been added on to several times. The hotel has been updated, with the rooms having the most update. It has a center pool area, with lots of children playing so its rather noisy, with rooms facing the pool. The hallways to the rooms have 5 or 6 steps in them where additions have occurred. The elevators are small, old and rumbly. you can access your room without using steps by using elevators in the rear of the hotel. Ceilings are low with old drop in ceiling tiles. The rooms have been renovated and are rather up to date. Beds are very comfortable, new fixtures in the bathroom. The toilet is small and round and doesn't flush too well. It takes forever to get hot water at the sink. The hallways are dim and outdated and have a unique and bit unpleasant odor. The hotel has a deli on site, no real restaurant, seating area is in the pool area. No bar, although the deli sells beer and wine. Have been in worse hotels and much better ones. The rooms were very clean, the rest of the hotel just old, hard to tell how clean it was.

Room Tip: This is a good hotel for a one night stay coming or going to the airport. Not a destination place b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur6111, Manager at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay, we appreciate your business. To clarify our hotel has been 100% NON smoking since 2008, and has not had any additions since our opening but it is true we are constantly upgrading, and improving our facilities for our guests. We are proud of our Guest Satisfaction scores which rank our hotel #2 in our market, and in the top 15% of all Holiday Inns in the USA. We are sorry you missed our bar which is open nightly serving fine wines, cocktails and your favorite brews. Thanks again for your comments and our entire staff looks forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Airport Conference Center this holiday weekend. We found the front desk very accommodating and friendly. We had a late check in - 10:30 PM, into 2 rooms. We had king rooms and were upgraded due to being Platinum Members. We got free breakfasts and newspaper. The rooms were large, beds comfy. Would definitely stay again. Check out was a breeze. We only stayed one night and next time we will bring suits in order to try out the large pool area.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, stay away from the rooms overlooking the large pool area. If you have kids and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Airport Conference Center this weekend for a convention. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The front desk was very accommodating with conditioner (which was not included in the rooms) and extra coffee and condiments. Breakfast is NOT included in the room here, but the hotel cafe had food at reasonable prices. The center courtyard of the hotel is beautiful with a fountain and view of the indoor pool. The free Wi-Fi was adequately fast (not as fast as home, but probably better than most hotels I've stayed). This hotel is almost directly across from the Des Moines International Airport and easily accessible to many restaurants downtown. The food the restaurant prepared for the conventions catered meals was outstanding! They also have a hot tub, nice exercise room and a business center.

Room Tip: The inside rooms on the elevated floors have lovely patios that overlook the courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur6111, Manager at Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Our entire staff very much appreciates your taking the time to share your kind comments. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center

Address: 6111 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Des Moines Airport Holiday Inn & Conference Center, Iowa places you minutes from area attractions including Des Moines International Airport with 24 hour free shuttle, Blank Park Zoo, Science Center of Iowa/IMAX theatre, Iowa State Fairground Varied Industries, Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Knoxville Raceway, Cownie Soccer Complex, Adventureland, Gray s Lake, and Prairie Meadows Casino. Our hotel is also convenient to businesses such as Wells Fargo, Allied Insurance, as well as area colleges such as Drake University, Des Moines University, Grandview College, DMACC, and Simpson College. If shopping is what you are looking for be sure to visit Jordan Creek Town Center & Mall, Valley West Mall, Southridge Mall, and historic Valley Junction Our hotel has over 200 beautifully decorated guestrooms, each with free wireless Internet, many with high-speed hard wired Internet as well. Many guestrooms come with microwave/refrigerator units, and our hotel has more than 20,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space with ample free parking for groups of 10-500. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, video game room, and ping pong in our tropical courtyard. Stop by our Grill restaurant, offering breakfast anytime, hot & cold sandwiches, along with steaks and seafood dinner entrees. Unwind in our bar and catch your favorite sporting event on our huge 68 big screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Airport Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center Des Moines, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.