We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms could use updating.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 6th Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Keokuk, IA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rooms could use updating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

The only reason I stayed at this hotel was because I booked a downtown hotel through Priceline, and this is what I got. I would never pay to stay here. The lobby looked great, the pool was heated and was really nice. The resturant looked very nice. The room was a different story. On both mattress's, there were large rust colored stains all over them. The window seal to the room was broken, and cold air came in the room. The shower head was 4 foot tall, no lie, I pretty much had to kneel down to have a normal shower. Like I said, everything at this hotel except the rooms are great, the rooms just need a major update before I ever stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    48
    37
    14
See reviews for
29
21
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

I stayed at the Downtown Holiday Inn for two nights in mid February 2007 because I was in Des Moines for a board meeting. I went through [--] for the room. I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years and each time it is either really bad, better or nice. This time was one of those nice times. It was clean, check in was good and staff was accommodating. Save for the fact my room was right next door to the exercise room and I was awakened by the sounds of the weight machine in the very early morning that jarred my teeth, and that the bed was old, uncomfortable and the linens were sparse and coarse making you feel that you were sleeping between two sheets of sandpaper, and that the maid was insistent she was coming into the room no matter if the door was bolted and the security lock was in place, she lunged at the door a number of times trying to open it so much so that the security lock was pulled straight out, and this was at 8:30 a.m. Because I booked through a discount web site I was not given a coupon for a free breakfast, even though my discount was more than I could have gotten if I had called direct. All in all, it was typical Downtown Des Moines Holiday Inn; you take your chances with this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2005

Would stay again in a heartbeat.
The hotel was sparkling clean and the staff, very friendly.
Easy downtown location, but what makes it even better......
you don't have to pay $12-$14 to park your car. It's free.
It is not walking distance to downtown restaurants and
activities. It is a very short drive.
We had the breakfast buffet and loved the biscuits and gravy!
We have to travel to Des Moines again next weekend and our
entire group asked if we could stay at the same hotel. It hit
the mark for us.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2005

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn several times on business. The front desk, among other hotel staff, always greet & acknowledge me with a friendly 'welcome back, mr.....'. The front desk staff is young but all seem very friendly and motivated. The Lobby, Restaurant, and Lounge all flow right into each other and are very convenient. There is a buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner which is also a nice quick option. The pool is nice, it is bigger than most. There is no hot tub, but there were tons of skylights and a sundeck and a lot of space around the pool for relaxing. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. I stayed on the South side of the building (faces a freeway) and expected it to be noisy. I was pleasantly surprised b/c it didn't affect my sleep at all. The best thing about this hotel was their free parking and shuttle service. It was so helpful in getting around the area. The building is definitely older yet it appears that it has been kept up pretty well. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you are staying in downtown and want a lot for your money.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2005

Typical run down holiday inn. Heat and AC in rooms to not work. In poor condition as a whole, stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2004

I've stayed here a couple of times while on business in Des Moines. Its cheaper than most of the other downtown hotels...recently I paid $76 for a single non-smoking king bed. Doubles are the same. They gave me the same rate as is shown on their advanced purchase Internet site.

The hotel itself is one of those past-its-prime kind of places, and is in need of some remodeling. The lobby carpets are worn, and old-looking. The rooms themselves are large and clean, but also have that faded look and style. The bathrooms are small and don't have enough shelf space for toiletries and shaving gear. The rooms facing the south look down on to I-235 so there can be traffic noise during morning rush hour. Its probably better to ask for a room facing the north, which is quieter.

The hotel staff seemed to be efficient and helpful, and they do have a shuttle driver who will drive you to your destinations within the downtown/state capital area.

This hotel is near the Mercy Hospital complex, but there are no other restaurants or bars within walking distance. You'll need to drive or take the shuttle to go out on the town. The neighborhood to the north of this hotel is also a little run-down.

I like this hotel's swimming pool, which is actually bigger than most hotel pools, and it has both a shallow and deep end. No hot tub though.

The bar and the breakfast area are OK, and are convenient if you need quick refueling. Prices for food and beverages are about mid-range.
This is certainly not one of HI's better hotels, but it is quite serviceable, and except for some of the aformentioned style and aging issues, should be OK for budget trvellers who need quick access to the downtown area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Address: 1050 6th Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Des Moines, Iowa. Come see our new Priority Club Executive Level with the new Holiday Inn bedding. Our convenient downtown location provides the ideal setting for both business and leisure travel. With convenient access to Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Auditorium, Des Moines Civic Center, Iowa State Fairgrounds, and Mercy Hospital, you can not go wrong when you stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Located in the heart of Des Moines, we are minutes away from an assortment of entertainment options. Indulge and have a ball at Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo or the Science Center. Also, exceptional dining and nightlife are just blocks away at the Court Avenue Entertainment District and the trendy Historic East Village. Downtown Des Moines is alive with special events every weekend, and our area shuttle makes navigating downtown a breeze!Relax, it's Holiday Inn. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an indoor pool, and a complimentary downtown/airport shuttle. If you love classic American cuisine set in a casual but elegant dining atmosphere, then Genevieve's is the place to go. Whether your visit brings you to Des Moines for business or pleasure, allow the Holiday Inn Downtown to be your hotel of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.