We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wasn't going to write a review, but...................” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort des Moines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fort des Moines to your Saves list
Hotel Fort des Moines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA 50309   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“wasn't going to write a review, but...................”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

enough is enough. Knew it was old, not so clean, terrible looking ceilings from water damage, old carpeting, tv is not even a flat screen, and slanted beds, terrible flat foam pillows, and bedding that appeared to be 1980s. So, my biggest GRIPE is PAPER thin walls. Tried to sleep at 10:30, and was awake for 3 hours from noises. Sounded like neighbors were within our bedroom. BAD hotel............... put some money into your hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    31
    41
    36
    32
See reviews for
30
27
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tagalong48
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This very historical, old hotel is just that...old! I thought I would like the charm of it...eek. As mentioned in previous reviews, everything is OLD. And worse of all...the beds are horrible! !!! Very expensive for what you get, which is nothing. Staff were wonderful tho!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Old carpet, old bedding, tube televisions, toilets you'd find at your school in the 70's with the large arm flush. No hotel parking, street or neighboring garage, free on weekends. Free internet if it would work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The lobby was pretty good and it appeared like it would be a good hotel, except the lights in the elevator did not work the entire time we were there.
The room looked nice but basic on first impression but on closer inspection it was dirty and the handle on the cupboard in the bathroom wasn't there. It would have been nice to have a central light for the room because most of the lights were on one side which made the room a little dark.
The bathroom was very badly laid out with the light switch on the far wall instead of by the door and the rail for the towels hanging over the toilet when there was ample wall space next to the shower for them. There was also no room to hang the towels once they had been used since the rail was very small and held the hand towels as well. The shower was nice and strong and a good temperature.
Later in the night I tried to do some work on the free internet they supply, unfortunately it was spotty and every time my inbox actually opened and I could click on the email I wanted, it wouldn't load because the internet stopped working again - this happened both while using the ethernet cord and the wireless.
The bed was also very hard although the room (5th floor) was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stopped here on a trip across country. I thought it would be nice to experience a historic hotel rather than the standard chains that line the interstate. Unfortunately, the hotel was dirty and out dated.

The front doors were heavily smudged with handprints. I stepped on a cockroach in the lobby while checking in. The room had a lot of mold in the bathroom, rust on the sink, wallpaper hanging off the wall and sagging, uncomfortable mattresses. I stayed one night then got up early the next morning and checked out. I couldn't even bring myself to use the shower.

When checking out the staff did not ask me how or if I enjoyed my stay. I can only guess they already knew what my answer would be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, WI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I visited relatives near Des Moines and stayed in this hotel. Our room was on the 6th floor. It looks NOTHING like the website -- it is old and need of desperate updating. Our room had very ugly furniture, outdated light fixtures, and felt dirty. We ordered coffee and danish through room service -- the coffee was cold and we were given four little creamers for a whole pot of coffee. To top everything off, there was no hot water to take a shower. Apparently the boilers were not working. The hotel bar that is advertised on the website was closed!!! Obviously, we were very disappointed and would not recommend this hotel. Don't believe what the website advertises...........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, MN, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nice hotel, lots of history, poltergeists abound - my wife's shower cap was moved multiple times. Fun times.

We were on the fifth floor and could not get the free Wi-Fi to connect to our iPads. Hotel personnel tried to help, but nothing worked. My phone only registered a very weak signal when I tried to access the Wi-Fi.

Staff made the hotel. They allowed us a discount due to not gaining the WWW.

Situated right down town, close to everything. Would return when in Des Moines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fort des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort des Moines

Address: 1000 Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA 50309
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fort des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fort des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Des Moines Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fort des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.