We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good... for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1140 24th Street, Des Moines, IA 50311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Des Moines
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good... for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Pros:
Per night rate was very reasonable
Typical breakfast selection
Clean room
Comfortable bed
Friendly Staff
Large TV
Good amount of channels

Cons:
Old fixtures and furniture
Old style heating/air unit
Needs more power outlets

While the hotel rooms looked older than most ive stayed in, for the price this hotel was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank encore02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Topanga, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Was in Des Moines for both work and recreation and chose this Intercontinental Hotels Group property due to both location just outside downtown and mainly positive TA reviews. This location is just a few minutes from downtown Des Moines and maybe 20 minutes to the airport on surface streets. You must have a car unless your only destination is Drake University. There are small restaurants and shops close by. It took me only a few minutes to drive to a Dahl’s to pick up some groceries.

The hotel is located in an older tree lined neighborhood. The hotel is nicely kept and clean. The staff are polite and correct even if not particularly friendly. My room was clean and good sized though one could spot signs here and there of wear and tear on the carpets, furniture, lampshades, etc. The AC was on the loud-ish side but not an issue for me. The shower stream was strong and welcome after a day in the heat outside. No problems with the Wi-fi. I didn’t get a chance to use the business center. Plenty of parking outside and no problems with cigarette smells. My room was pretty quiet.

The breakfast included with the room rate was more than adequate. The coffee was merely passable but the biscuits and sausage gravy really got the day going. Also fruit selection, toast and pastries. They also had a pancake-making machine which I didn’t try. The breakfast area only has a few tables and unwiped spills, clutter, and empty coffee carafes indicated that it wasn’t as well looked after as in many other comparable lodging properties.

Keeping in mind that this is an “Express” brand hotel meaning it won’t be offering the kind of luxury services of more the more high brow properties, I thought that room rates could also be more aligned with its “Express” branding but overall I like this property primarily for its location near but right in downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J13345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is the only hotel in the Drake neighborhood. It is convienient if you have business at Drake. The place is clean, staff are nice, the breakfast was not the greatest...but it is free with your room rate. The Drake Diner is right next door
..I would recommend eating there. The beds were very comfortable. A/C was a little loud...but I could deal with it. The price is high...but all the hotels in this area (comparing with downtown) are in this price range. So...not unreasonable in comparision. I would stay here again. I recommend if you need to be at Drake.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel was pretty nice. Cheking in and out was quick and easy. The room was clean. They give you nice toiletries, I like that they include a makeup removal wipe.
The free breakfast was generous. The sausage, biscuit, and cinnamon roll I tried was good. The scrambled eggs were grotty! The oragne juice was watered down and nasty. Maybe the machine was on the fritz? I would avoid those two items, but there was a wide enough variety to still make it a great amenity.
But that's about all you get. I paid $100 on Hotwire, and even at that "bargain" I felt that was a bit much to pay for an average hotel in a neighborhood in Des Moines, IA.
Speaking of Hotwire- I live in Des Moines and intended to book a hotel downtown for a "stay-cation" and was annoyed to find that they considered this hotel to be in the downtown area even though it's a couple neighborhoods away. Something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpaulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear mpaulette,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. As for the rates, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I'm not sure what "what an awful hotel" was talking about-this is a great hotel. Yes, its small and does not have a pool, fitness center, etc. How much time were you spending there; get out and enjoy the city! We have student at Drake and were very leary about staying at a hotel on campus. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The front desk staff was very helpful and answered any and all questions we had. We have traveled to many hotels and experiences "breakfasts". This one was definately the best of the best.
If you consider staying there for an event at Drake make your reservation far in advance as they fill up very quickly. That also tells me that others are also happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: For special events at Drake, make reservations early; they fell up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisFisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very nice place in a nice neighborhood in central Des Moines. Much better for us than the suburban wasteland places, and cheaper and less ostentatious than the hotels right downtown. We found it very convenient to downtown and East Village, or to the Art Museum and Isotope ave. Though hot breakfast is free there's a nice diner next door. And the service was excellent. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room was spotless when I arrived...housekeeping was fantastic. I did an inspection of the room and found no hairs or stains. The front desk associate MJ was very nice and answered all my questions. Staff was friendly. Complimentary breakfast was delicious and the variety was appreciated. Definitely ask about restaurant hot spots as there are quite a few in the area of Des Moines. The Drake Diner is right next door to the hotel and they offer excellent food. They are currently remodeling so extra amenities are being added (new elevator and a fitness center). I highly recommend this property to any friends/family of Drake students. I have family who attends Drake so I will be staying here from time to time when I come and visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hammerofthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
1.5 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#9 of 47 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University

Address: 1140 24th Street, Des Moines, IA 50311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from Des Moines, Iowa, home of the Drake Bulldogs and Drake Relays. Holiday Inn Express at Drake is at the heart of this city's renaissance neighborhood and ideally located right on campus. Seconds away are the Knapp Center, and Drake Stadium. Dining is available next door at the retro-themed favorite, Drake Diner. Follow your meal with an independent film a jaunt away at the Varsity Movie Theatre. Come visit the campus, the community, and us; we'll make you feel at home.Plenty of entertainment awaits off campus as well. Attractions include Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Amusement Park, Iowa State Fairgrounds, Principal Park, and Blank Park Zoo. Also nearby are the Civic Center, Convention Complex, Veterans Auditorium, Hy-Vee Hall and Wells Fargo Arena. We are moments from the Historical Building of Iowa, the State Capital, Living History Farms, Terrace Hill, Salisbury Mansion and Hoyt Sherman Place. Centrally situated among all of the Metro's retail districts --- four major malls, many boutiques and antique shops. Seasonal attractions are plentiful and near. Other areas of interest include The East Village, Historic Valley Junction and Downtown Court Avenue District, where nightlife is at its best. Free Wireless Internet available in all guest rooms and public areas. Whether it is business or pleasure that brings you our way, our team is ready to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#