We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold water and pool area!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines to your Saves list
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322 (Formerly Holiday Inn Merle Hay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Earling, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Cold water and pool area!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our group had a total of 7 rooms. We do this once a year, but will not being going back to Ramada Tropics. The water and the pool were VERY cold! It was EXTREMELY uncomfortable the entire time for the adults and children. Some of the children had purple lips! We also heard many other adults and children complaining about this. My friend talked to the staff about it twice and was told there wasn't anything they could do about this. As a large group, we have gone to other water parks in the winter and have NEVER had this issue. I would not advise going to this waterpark unless this issue is resolved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    425
    278
    129
    79
See reviews for
970
33
15
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indianola
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The water park was great, kids pool got too cold quickly, the area, rooms and everythnig was neat and very clean. One of the beds in the room was about wore out, it had a large indention in the middle and if 2 people tried to sleep in it you were both leaning towards each other. the staff and housekeeping were excellent. The restaurant ( I should have know better when it was empty on valentines day) was terrible, I mean how can you mess up pizza? The crust was raw, the top and edges burnt. We ended up throwing it away and ordering pizza hut and having it delivered!!! Other than the restaurant, we will return to the hotel again, we will just plan on leaving to eat. Thanks for a fun trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went down to the hotel for a fun weekend. 1)phone didn't work in room.2) housekeepers just walk in.3) we need more adult time for hot tub. 2 may little kids in there. 4) bar drinks were a little price.. I just think we didn't get very good hospitality. I went down to the desk to tell them and it looked like it was a bother for him to hear me. . I just think ur staff should be alittle bit friendlier. Thank you. I hope we can get this resolved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were told Check in was at 3 when is was actually 4pm. When we got there at 3:30 they said our room would be ready shortly and it wasn't ready until 5:30pm. So we sat there with our stuff in the lobby area for 2 hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNNYXED, General Manager at Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your check in. It is our goal to have all rooms ready for the 4pm check in time. I will address this issue with my staff. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope we get another opportunity to serve you in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Address: 5000 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322 (Formerly Holiday Inn Merle Hay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tropics Hotel Des Moines
Ramada Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Ramada
Ramada Des Moines
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.