We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Was here for a recent soccer tournament. This is an older property that is kept up OK, but does show signs of wear. Jackie at the front desk was fantastic in making sure I was satisfied with the rooms and check-in process. Cleaning service skipped a few of the rooms twice during our four day stay, even though we did not have the do not disturb signs on the doors. Not sure what happened. There are quite a few businesses in the area, so making a trip to Starbucks or Target is easy. Overall, this is a comfortable average hotel with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear nrg 132

Thank you for your comments regarding your teams stay at Holiday Inn & Suites Des Moines Northwest. We enjoyed hosting the soccer tournament teams, and I am pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and our hotel satisfactory for your stay.

As to your question about no service rooms, I would be interested to discuss that further with you. We certainly want to insure guests recieve all the services they require while respecting their privacy when requested. Please give me a call at your convenenece if you wish to discuss.

Thanks again and good luck to your team.

Sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    26
    14
    5
See reviews for
21
9
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel is quite different in structure to most Holiday Inns. Rooms were clean and the front desk personnel were very friendly. Wished the price would have included breakfast, but Bennigan's served a nice meal. Hotel is located close to the Interstate. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Patfra2

Thank You so much for your kind comments about your stay at Holiday Inn & Suites Des Moines Northwest. We appreciate that you have noticed the many improvements we have made. We will continue to improve beacuse we appreciate your business and want you to be pleasantly suprised with every return stay. Thanks again for staying with us.

Yours in Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvis, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our recent visit on June 7 & 8, 2013, was outstanding. Greeting upon arrival, room layout and quality of food and service at Benigan's was just what we have come to expect from Holiday Inn. Thank you for making this visit enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
er,

I am pleased you found Holiday Inn & Suites Des Moines Northwest along with Bennigans an enjoyable experience.. I appreciate that you took the time to express your opinion here as well.

We look forward to the next opportunity to be of service.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
What Cheer
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stay here often for business and always enjoy the location, it is easy to go anywhere in Des Moines. The room was clean, the bathroom has been updated, and the bed was great. The staff is always polite and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Short Stay,

Thank you for staying with us, and especially thank you for your loyalty. Its always nice to hear everything went great with your stay. Hope to see you again soon, perhaps for a bit longer this time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay at this hotel often for work. They have recently updated most of the rooms and the lobby is quite nice. Beds are comfortable, heat/air easy to adjust and everything is clean. I think the staff is quite friendyly and will tryy to accomodate requests. It is pet friendly and the suites are great for families because the bedrooms can be closed off for privacy and the kids can sleep on the pull out sofa. Computers are available in the business center. Since the Bennigans is attached you don't need to go outside to go eat which is good if is raining or snowing.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on a different floor from any sports teams staying! Over years of staying here the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Frequent Visitor,

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn & Suites Des Moines Northwest, and thank you for your comments. I am gratified to hear you found so many things about our hotel that appealed to you. We will continue to strive to make our hotel even better in the future.

We are honored to have earned your loyalty.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The property was OK but really showing the wear. The staff was polite and helpful. The room was old and in need of updating. Really below the standard I would expect for a Holiday Inn. I am thinking there has to be better options in the De Moines area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Brassmat,

Thanks for staying with Holiday Inn & Suites Des Moines Northwest. I appreciate your positive comments as well as your honest critique. Improvements are an ongoing process in the hotel business, and this year alone we have made significant improvements, and will continue to do so. I am glad to hear everything else was good. I invitie you to stop by on your next visit to Des Moines, and we might suprise you.

Thanks again for your comments,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Nebraska. I am glad I did not read the reviews first or I would not have stayed here. Our room was okay....could use some new furniture. The bed was comfortable however, and that is always important. We always bring our dog so we need pet friendly hotels and it limits our choices. The bathroom was the tiniest I have ever been in at a hotel and in dire need of a remodel....We ordered room service which was very prompt and the food was average. We could have had free breakfast, but did not have time for that. The staff was very friendly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Muktown,

Thanks for staying at Holiday Inn & Suites Des Moines Northwest. I am glad you found many thiings about our hotel appealing and also found a few items to critique. Your honest feedback is important and appreciated. We in fact are currently adressing the items you mentioned, and I believe you would discover a suprising difference your next stay. And we are certainly pet friendly.

Thanks again for your comments,

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Address: 4800 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest is located in the heart of Iowa, 1/2 block from Interstates 80/35 and Merle Hay Road in the Des Moines suburbs of Johnston and Urbandale. Within minutes of corporate locations such as John Deere Credit, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Iowa Public Television and Camp Dodge. Enjoy our indoor pool, hot tub and recreation area until midnight! Nearly 200 guestrooms and suites feature quilt-top mattresses, triple sheets and pillow menu. Executive-class suites are offered in several styles, from Junior Kings to the stunning Presidential Whirlpool with Rosewood conference table, bar and entertainment center. Hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of conference space, including 18 breakout meeting rooms. Meet in the elegant Iowa Boardroom or the Heartland Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 600 guests. From technical assistance and creative menu planning, to just a bit of reassurance, our meeting professionals can assist with the planning of your next best event! Enjoy complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet service anywhere in the Hotel or restaurant. Local guests enjoy the extensive menu and friendly Irish hospitality of our Bennigan's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.