We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for downtown stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Des Moines Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Breakfast, On Us!
Ranked #13 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good choice for downtown stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I came for business and booked here. Overall I was pleased with my room and overall hotel experience. I did not try any of the restaurants inside hotel. Parking was confusing. Use valet, otherwise you have to park in garage across street. There is a skyway, but kind of a hassle.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    82
    58
    15
    5
See reviews for
31
49
12
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Marriot Des Moines Downtown from 24-28 August. The hotel room is clean and tidy and the staff are very polite and approachable.
Avoid staying at the room near the lift or ice dispenser and it is quite noisy if you wish to get good sleep.
The restaurant is a little small and the queue for the breakfast buffet is pretty long if you are happen to have breakfast during the rush hour.
The concierge lounge is small and the food variety is very limited unlike the other marriot chain hotels in Asia. Furthermore they are closed during weekends.
In general the hotel can be considered to stay if you have to attend a meeting or conference in Des Moines.

Dr E. Chow

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a great stay here for the Hy-Vee Tri. We checked in Saturday and the front desk was quick and friendly. Our room was clean and fairly big. It had a mini fridge AND a microwave which was a plus for us. We were on the 21st floor and the elevators were quick and they had plenty. The pool on the 3rd floor is actually really nice and had lap lanes. The gym looked nice as well and way more than just the usual 2 treadmills and an elliptical that grace most places. It was also walking distance to Zombie Burger as well as the bar scene on Court Avenue. We still had to drive to the race, but would definitely stay here again for the race next year.
We were also easily able to find street parking EASILY both nights to avoid the $20/parking fee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here for a week for a work conference. It was wonderful. The staff were very helpful, the food served at the conference was fabulous. Their breakfast pizza was excellent. The only complaint I have is that the conference rooms were frigid; but the did manage to bring up the temps once we asked them to. The lobby is beautiful. They have shuttle service that will take you anywhere in the city. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there on 8/24/13. The facilities were very nice and centrally located for our activities. They have valet parking and I recommend it. They are very fast at retrieving your car. Worth the $20 charge. Not much parking in area as I could see. The only downside was no refrigerator in our room. If staying longer would have asked about. Bed very comfortable and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: This was part of wedding block. Very happy w/ room. Heard no complaints from any other members of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When you go to an elevator and it just starts to close it should pop open when you put your hand in. Well I did that and it didn't stop, so my hand on one side elbow the other, waiting for it to open... Not. My arm was stuck, had to yank my arm out! Was there for a wedding reception spent two nights there. Went to the front desk to let them know what happened. They called the security person Kyle, took my report asked if I need medical assistance, I said I don't think so, it Really hurts but I have to get back to the reception. My 7 year old daughter was behind me when this happened and didn't want her to worry. She saw the tiers in my eyes and was freaking, so I sucked it up. They asked me if I wanted an ice pack and that was it! No discount, I got a call from a claims guy, Chris 2 days later, saying the Marriott has no accident insurence and would mail me a form and call in a few days to see how I was. This happened on 8/17/13, still no second call!
Long story short what if it was my kid? Or yours? I had a 5 inch long and 2 inch wide bruise above my elbow for two weeks!

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed two nights. It was a convenient location for the Iowa State Fair and Adventureland. We appreciated the later hours for the lobby bar/ food area. The pool area also had convenient hours and was enjoyable for the kids. Valet parking was full, however street parking and garage parking were close and free. Buffet breakfast in restaurant was acceptable. The staff did not seem surprised when we reported a sleeping (passed out?) man in the hallway directly outside our room the first morning and didn't seem to understand how it affected our feeling of safety in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Des Moines Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Address: 700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Des Moines Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxury Des Moines hotel ideally located in the downtown business district just four miles from the airport and connected to the Iowa Events Center and Wells Fargo Arena by skywalk, making it one of the most convenient downtown Des Moines hotels. Dine at the delectable on-site Rock River Grill and Tavern, or discover the innovative City Center Lounge for casual downtown libations. Guests can relax in our sparkling pool or coffee shop and stay connected with our business center and free wi-fi in public areas. Highlighted by 25,000 square feet of space, this Des Moines, IA hotel is ideal for conferences, weddings, retreats and events of all sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Des Moines Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Marriott Des Moines
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Moines Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.