We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the New Year
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Fort Madison, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Des Moines Embassy Suites Downtown. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to all the restaurants, Principal Park for an Iowa Cubs game, the Farmer's Market and other activities going on downtown. The staff were all friendly and helpful beginning with our check-in (Whitni) to check out. There was a concert going on at the Simon Estes Ampitheather next door our first night and we were able to sit on the patio of the hotel and listen to the music. The patio area is beautiful and comfortable. It was nice to sit out there, enjoy the weather and watch all the people going by. The hotel was packed due to a convention, weddings and the Pridefest going on that weekend, but everything ran smooth and the staff never seemed irritated or rushed. The elevators might have been slow at times, but there were many guests needing to get around, so it was expected.

The complimentary breakfast was great. At evening manager's reception it was great to have the free drinks, but the snacks (chips and dip) were lacking. Would have liked to have seen at least some cheese and crackers or vegetables, but can't complain too much when it was free. I did like the fact that they had two Wiis hooked up and some board games for people to play.

The internet was so frustrating! It was hit or miss when it would be available or we'd get dropped off without warning.

The rooms were very nice and clean. Only complaint was that it was hard to keep a constant temperature.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear AT5064;

Thank you for staying with us. Sounds like you had an action packed stay and that you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoy multiple events and activities in Des Moines. I appreciate your great comments about the staff and the services we provided with the complimentary cooked to order breakfast and complimentary evening reception. I am sorry you experienced drop offs with the internet connection.

I do also appreciate the fact that you found the hotel very clean and that you enjoyed the large two room suites we have,

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    142
    37
    25
    11
See reviews for
130
71
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was trying to make a reservation thru the hotel for 2 rooms on July 12th and had to call the hotel directly because reservations was down for Hilton Worldwide. What a smartalec know it all. I had a few questions about the room types rate, and what it would cost with points instead and you would have thought I interupted her nail appointment or something. You couldn't pay me to stay at this hotel if this is the way their staff treat paying customers that provide them a weekly paycheck! nd $260 a night for 2 Category 4 rooms? Seriously? No thanks! I've stayed at the Double Tree in Des Moines in the past and had outstanding service and food and will go back there instead. I was only booking this one as our niece's reception is close by at the Hyatt, but being Hilton Diamond I was going to stay at a Hilton property instead. No thanks! Get off your high horse chick and take some manners classes, especially when you are dealing with one of Hilton's top guests, which I happen to be!

Room Tip: Don't waste your time, very rude front desk help (or should I say helpless)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear savedru2;

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my apologies if one of our staff members at the Front Desk did not come across as being hospitable. As you can see from the many outstanding reviews we receive, this certainly is not typical as we all take great pride in providing exceptional service to all of our guests. I appreciate you being a loyal Hilton guest and I hope that you will continue to frequent the great Hilton family properties during your travels.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location if you want to be near downtown. City view is quite nice. Parking a slight hassle and fee around $8 per day. I got a good rate otherwise not sure if I would have stayed there. Very good breakfast and evening free drinks hard to complain about, although not much for food options during their happy hour. Probably so they hope you eat in their restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Thomas R;

Thank you for your comment! I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary cooked to order brekafast as well as the complimentary Evening Reception.

We hope to see you soon back at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton,IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were in town for a graduation at DMU and have stayed at other Embassy Suites, but this one is tops in my opinion! ALL of the staff were great from the door men to the omlet chef! We very satisified with everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear carguy58;

Thank you very much and congratulations to the graduating student!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff is extremely nice and the hotel is beautiful. We were traveling with friends and had connecting suites. The evening reception was great and the cook to order breakfast has anything anyone could want. We will definitely return to this hotel anytime we're in Des Moines!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear jimmyfp;

Thank you for your comments - we all look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked a room for two nights. Upon our arrival, we decided to use the valet service. The staff member told us there was no valet service but we could park our own car 1/2 a block away. Mind you the 1/2 block walk didn't kill us but the idea of advertising a valet service and not being able to follow through is a bit off-putting. We went to grab a bite to eat at the restaurant. As previously mentioned, the service was terrible. Our room smelled musty, the A/C vent was literally blowing out quarter size dust bunnies, and there was some sort of topper on the mattress that caused the fitted sheet not to fit. Dead bugs on the window casing was the last straw. We checked out immediately. Our elevator ride down was shared with a staff member that had not bathed in quite some time. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Kim T;

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your stay was not enjoyable and it truly is not representative of what our guest typically experience as you can see from the mostly outstanding comments we receive on TripAdvisor and through our own Guest surveys. I would greatly appreciate it, if you could contact me directly at the hotel to review the specifics and give me the opportunity to make it right for you.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We paid a premium price for a premium suite that didn't live up to its promises. We were supposed to have access to a refreshment center (in reality a couple of vending machines - you enter a code and the machine dispenses your selection - there was a machine with beverages and a machine with chips, candy bars, and trail mix). Beverage selections were bottled apple juice, bottled water, and cans of Coke, Diet Coke, and Sprite. We were there for one night and both times we tried to get a beverage - the evening we checked in and the morning we checked out - the machine was out of everything except regular Coke. WiFi was included in the premium price, but in our room on the 8th floor it was weak and kept getting dropped, so we weren't able to use it much. The Keurig coffee maker (also touted as perk in the premium suites) wasn't cleaned out before our arrival. It still contained a liquid-filled styrofoam cup and a used K-cup.

We also found a few other problems with the room in general: 1) the Kleenex box was nearly empty when we arrived and when we used those up, there wasn't another box in the room, 2) there was no plastic bag for the ice bucket, and 3) the temperature of the suite was difficult to control. The front room has the thermostat. The back room was hotter, so the choice was to turn the air conditioner down low enough to cool the back room to a comfortable temperature (which made the front room too cold) or keep the front room at a comfortable temperature (which made the back room too hot).

We would stay here again because overall this is a nice hotel. We just wouldn't book a premium suite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear An_Iowan;

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback! I greatly appreciate it and have discussed your comments with my staff. We hope to be of service to yu in the future and we do always look for ways to improve service and product delivery so I do truly value your comments.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.