We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the New Year
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Des Moines, United States
1 review
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We always stay at this property for business but this last experience was just that, the last. We haven't had problems in the past and obviously been fortunate because this stay was problems from the reservation being wrong to noise complaints and they did not handle any of it timely or professionally. We were up half the night because of screaming and yelling in the hallway that was not dealt with, it took an hour to bring up extra blankets and pillows (which would not have been needed had they gotten the reservation correct) and when I spoke to the manager he was rude and sarcastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Alison F;

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we were not able to switch the room type from what you had booked as we were sold out for rooms with two double beds. We do always take all requests into consideration, however, we did not get any cancellations that would have allowed us to help you with your request to change the original room type that you booked. I do apologize for the noise that you experienced and that our manager did not come across as being hospitable and friendly to you. I have reviewed your particular circumstances with him and he is truly sorry that he was unable to assist you with changing the room type for you.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    142
    37
    25
    11
See reviews for
130
71
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Do not expect your room to be clean. Do not expect anything to be clean. Look for another hotel. The Staff do not care and will chat wit each other or take a smoke break while you enjoy the dust and trash still in your room from the last guest. parking is not available and the will try to charge you to find your own spot in the garage. they do give swift refunds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear David S;

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry you did not end up staying with us and left immediately upon your arrival as you did not find the hotel up to your standards. We take great pride in the service we provide and in the extremely high level of cleanliness and maintenance of the property as is indicated by the very high remarks we typically receive both on TripAdvisor as well as on our own Hilton Satisfaction surveys.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nice two room suites with micro fridge, microwave and a "POD" coffee maker. Adequate but would have rather had a normal basket coffee machine. the evening festivities' were a plus. Breakfast is one of the better ones around but tale space was at a premium a few days that the hotel was 100% filled. The liberty restaurant had good food but a limited menu an was a bit on the higher priced side. complementary beverages flowed from 5:30 to 7:30 and the tenders were generous with the pours. the snack food was unimaginative, generic and bland. All in all, it's one of the nicer places to stay in DSM.

Room Tip: Book rooms on the river side . It's quieter and summer time it hosts movies and concerts right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Bob M;

I greatly appreciate your feedback. I am delighted to see that you were able to enjoy our great cooked to order breakfast that is included in the rate as is our complimentary evening reception with its alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. We are in the process of finalizing our new menu for Liberty's restaurant and hope that you will find the new menu selections to your liking when you return.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Clean and centrally located facility near the East Village area with excellent service along with a genuinely friendly and attentive staff.... I no doubt will be returning for both business and pleasure trips whenever in the greater Des Moines area…..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear G6737IBthomass;

Thank you very much for the great review - we hope to be of service to you in the future!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo iowa
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Although it was very busy with a wrestling tournement in town, we still had a wonderful stay at the Embassy. This was my first stay in an Embassy Suite and I would definitely use the hotel chain again. The rooms were spacious and clean. Although the courtyard area below was always very busy, we did not hear the noise while in our room. The Managers reception in the evening and the morning breakfast were both wonderful and much appreciated since we did not want to leave with the below zero temperatures that weekend. Everything we needed was right there at the hotel. The check in staff was fast, friendly and efficient also. Rates are a bit higher than you can get elsewhere but it is worth if for the location and the added ameneties.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear brendajoynt;

I am glad you had your first experience with the Embassy Suites brand and that you found all the amenities we offer (two room suites, cooked to order complimentary breakfast and the evening reception) as adding to the value of your stay! I also appreciate your comments regarding the friendly and efficient Front Desk Staff!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Despite the lack of network bandwidth, the hotel itself was superior to others I've stayed in the Des Moines area. My recommendation would be to not get the wifi and use your own hotspot. The only other detrimental is the noise through the glass (as every room faces the atrium). It gives good daylight, but can be annoying as every little noise can be heard. The suite was nice and large/clean with newer furnishings. There is a pool which is nice but draws a lot of families.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear jbester;

Thank you for your comments and feedback! I am sorry that you did not find the HSIA bandwidth as being adequate, however, I am delighted that you truly enjoyed our large two room suites that Embassy Suites have for all our guests.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has recently been remodeled. You can see its a older hotel but the remodel really helped. Everything is new and comfortable (they even have free booze until 7:30 PM during the week). If you have an event downtown you can beat the location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear mgiese84;

The remodel of the property did truly transform the hotel and we a re very excited with the results the renovation team achieved. In conjunction with the renovation we also enhaned the service and staffing levels in order to become the best hotel in Des Moines for both individual and group trravelers.

We all hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.