We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Des Moines Embassy Suites” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the New Year
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Burlington, United States
1 review
“Des Moines Embassy Suites”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a reservation with a group. After 3 attempts to check in (over three hours) we got a room but not with the group. On the second attempt I had to wait for someone to get off a cell phone to help me. Dissapointing experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Maureen E;

Thank you very much for your comments. Please accept my apologies for us not having been able to place your group all together in one location due to the hotel being sold and very busy. We do our best to place sports teams close to each other, but at times this may not be possible with the hotel being as busy as we typically are. I am sorry the Front Desk associate was using a cell phone while you were waiting to be served - most likely he or she was talking to one of our van drivers assisting guests outside the immediate area, as we do not allow the use of personal phones with any staff members while at work.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    142
    37
    25
    11
See reviews for
130
71
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great staff and great hotel. Eddie at the front desk will help you with whatever you need. Great location and close to the convention center. Rooms are clean and the managers reception is always good. Breakfast ismade to order and you can't go wrong with a great breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear FireMedic203;

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding Eddie! I will share your review with him and the rest of the hotel staff. I am glad that you enjoy our complimentary cook to order breakfast in addition to the Evening Reception and the rooms.

Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heardville,GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

An Embassy Suites I wouldn't hesitate to return to. Clean spacious rooms. Great river views. Friendly staff. Typical Embassy Suites breakfast.

The only issue with my stay was that one of the three elevators was down due to the renovation. One night during my stay, the second elevator that accesses the garage also went down, leaving for one elevator and none that went down to the garage. It made for a long wait for the elevator the next morning and stairs to traverse to get to the car in the garage.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Chris C;

I am very sorry about only having one working elevator during part of your stay. We are in process of having our elevators completely re- modernized which is a major project taking approximately eight weeks per elevator. Unfortunately we had another elevator develop a mechanical problem during your stay leaving us with only one operational elevator for a period of time.

I hope that this unforeseen circumstance will not keep you from staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Des Moines Embassy Suites. It was clean; the staff was friendly and very helpful. We love the complementary breakfast and the great variety of choices especially the wonderful omlets!! The evening reception was a welcome relief after flying all day or out visiting relatives. We also appreciate the complementary airport shuttle, how nice to just get picked up and dropped off at the airport!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Carol B;

Thank you for your review - I am delighted that you had teh opportunity to enjoy all the great amenities we offer and that you completely enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We used the Embassy Suites for our company Christmas party. The hotel was the perfect setting for our likings. The ballrooms were spacious and elegant. The dinner was delicious and the staff was professional and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Kisten G;

Thank you for your comments - I am glad that you had a great company holiday party and we look forward to hosting it again next year!

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful. They have a free shuttle service that is very helpful in the downtown area. All the staff were very pleasant and the rooms were amazing. This hotel is in a perfect location for the downtown area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Nathaniel R;

Thank you for your review - I am glad that you had and "Amazing" stay!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was a short weekend trip to visit family. The staff was very accommodating in helping us get a room to accommodate our family. A big thank you to Cameron. We used the indoor pool. It was very nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was ok, nothing great but it was included so it made it nice to have it all right there. The best part was when we went to dinner, we were going to walk because we thought the resturant was a short distance. We were stopped outside the hotel and offerered a ride as well as they returned to pick us up. That was a nice touch. They also provided me shuttle service to the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were able to upgrade to a corner suite and it was nice. Had a great view of the state Capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear frdrices;

I am delighted that Cameron did a great job providing exceptional service to you. We take great pride in the services and amenities we have and i am glad that you were able to enjoy many of them including the friendly shuttle service, breakfast buffet and the pool area. Sounds like your family had an awesome stay and I look forward to your return!

Skip Hammerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.