We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, extremely luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast and WiFi
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MLPS/St.Paul, MN United States of America
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, extremely luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very ncie hotel, especially with the remodeling they just made. Stayed there with a group on business, the Free Manager's Reception was nice! (free pop and chips).

ONLY PROBLEM WAS $9.95/NIGHT FOR HIGH SPEED WIFI

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    161
    41
    29
    13
See reviews for
150
81
26
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family (2 kids -- ages 10 and 8) stayed at the Embassy Suites on the river over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was crowded with some sort of youth baseball tourney, which was the only real downside to our stay. Wait times for elevators was exceedingly long, often because the baseball boys were racing each other in elevators on either corner of the open atrium. Even with the crowds, though, the hotel was quiet at night, and the pool was never so crowded that our kids didn't want to swim. We went to an I-Cubs game and the stadium is an easy (and nice) walk down the river. The free breakfast is really nice, although again because of the crowds the lines were long and the buffet was often out of some items. We love embassy suites because our kids don't have to share a bed, and this hotel lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We recently stayed in 7 rooms for a family Memorial Service over the weekend. From the coordinator who helped us reserve the rooms, to the front desk staff, to the van drivers - everyone was extremely helpful, polite, and professional. It's located right on the river overlooking a new bandstand (where there are concerts on Thursday nights in the summer) and a garden area. I had not been back to Des Moines for almost 10 years, and was amazed at the rebuilding going on. We ate dinners in the Court Avenue area, which is really jumping compared to 20 years ago when I lived there!

This hotel has recently undergone a huge renovation and was really nice. I've always loved Embassy Suites because of the spacious rooms, but they were especially nice this time with so many family members in and out of the rooms. The front desk staff even managed to get us all on the 8th floor. If you go, be sure to ask for an 8th floor room facing the river. The "Happy Hours" and free breakfasts were as good as I remember and quite a cost saver for our large family. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for an 8th floor room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We have been staying at the Embassey Suites for three day weekends each month ths year. Make your reservations early or there will only be $400+ rooms.
The breakfast cook is a gregarious soul who keeps life interesting. All of the help have been catering.
The underground parking and elevator area is very moist and a little musty.
Rooms are clean since the renovation.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Beautiful atrium (as always from Embassy Suites). A little noisy but bedrooms are separated by living area and have doors so got a good nights rest.

A little pricy but nice visit. Parking was $7 across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Lovely spot overlooking Des Moines River and great city views. Spacious room, even for a suites hotel, nice to be able to spread ourselves out.

Room Tip: Upgrade to River View, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We recently stayed at this Embassy Hotel...great location. Went to Farmer's Market in the morning, walked around on the pedestrian bridges in the afternoon, went to Cub baseball game that evening and enjoyed some of the nightlife on Court Avenue. I have stayed at this hotel before and the recent room upgrades are wonderful. The bed was super comfortable. The rooms are huge and very clean. We had a waitress in the bar and also at breakfast by the name of Courtney that was very friendy and provided super service. We will use this hotel again for a weekend get away. 5 star stay all of the way around.

Room Tip: Ask for a view towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.