We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5231 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321 (Formerly Des Moines Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Sunbury, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were just passing through on our motorcycle and needed a place to rest. This wasn't fancy by any means but was a good night stay. If you are just looking for a place to rest your head at night for a decent price, this would work fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    15
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
11
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well, i was staying at the hotel, having a cup of coffee when I overheard an older gentleman working at the desk asking the younger guy if he has posted any good reviews on TripAdvisor? He seemed concerned about some reviews posted that reflects badly towards the hotel and he wants to get better ratings. What is the use of better reviews and better ratings when the place is not well maintained. Parking lot has cigarette buds, trash can be seen by the creek next to the hotel, on top of that the check in person was out smoking in her car. My last review was not posted because it was way more worse than this one.
AC in lobby looked like as if they are on a show, looks good on the outside but does not work. Breakfast, wow!!! I should have gone to Motel 6, paid 50.00 +tax and then go have breakfast to the Perkins next to it and I would have had a better deal than paying 120 + Tax for room and the breakfast included!
This place is just a sore to the eye. The person checking us in looked to have more tatoos than her customer service skills. That was a bad start to our stay. We had some problems with our Room AC, She said she cannot help as she does not know how to fix an AC Unit. It made our stay memorable. Next time I come to Des Moines, this place is not going to be in my good books.

Well, just wanting to make Tripadvisor Reviewers know that most of these "Excellent" Reviews

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Don't have much to complain about here. The parking is crowded and tricky at times. The rooms are nice and updated. Great large screen TV. Beds were great but the pillows were horrid. Lots of small, very firm pillows. Ouch. The bathroom had absolutely no counter space and there was a wall blowdryer but it was not attached to the wall making it very awkward to use.
The buffet is nice and the restaurant food was very good with excellent views of the river. We stayed for three nights. One of the nights the neighbors got in a huge fight and woke us up. We called the front desk and they said it had already been reported. It took quite some time for someone to contain the ruckus and we got little sleep. When my sister-in-law spoke to the front desk the next day...they didn't know a thing about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Terrible beds and terrible breakfast
The Air Conditioner rattled all night, the beds dipped in the middle and the toilet was trickling all night making noise and wasting water. I don't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the first time that we sstayed at this location. we were amazed to see the way the place had been changed given the fact that the website through which I booked this hotel showed the old pictures. The Rooms were well done, bed were very comfortable, they even have a Hot Tub!!! Good Location, Right next to the Airport. They have a complimentary Shuttle Service. We did not have to worry about being picked up and dropped off at the airport. Breakfast was great too.Lots of Cold and Hot Options. Staff were very courteous and friendly and attentive to their guest needs. We will definitely come back here soon.

Room Tip: take the rooms facing the rear of the building facinf away from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the property. The shuttle service was on schedule and the staff was very friendly. The lobby is inviting and room was very clean. I would recommend getting a room not facing the airport

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked two rooms over three nights, and had stayed last year, before the refurbishment, and before I knew about TripAdvisor quite frankly.
At check in, they didn't even realize I would be there three nights. Fortunately the rooms themselves were great - clean, fresh-smelling, very pleasant. But the swimming pool area was grimy over the three days, and the breakfast room chairs are very crowded, you can't comfortably pull the chair in to the table, plus they were very, well, Inattentive - the coffee was constantly out, or at least it was out two of the three mornings I was there. The third morning it was out because the three ladies were chatting at the front.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites

Address: 5231 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321 (Formerly Des Moines Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Des Moines Comfort Inn® is conveniently located less than one mile from the Des Moines International Airport. The hotel is near many popular attractions, including Blank Park Zoo, Iowa Events Center, Wells Fargo Arena, Des Moines Art Center and the Living History Farms museum. Nearby colleges and universities include Drake University, Simpson College, Grand View College, Des Moines Area Community College, Des Moines University, AIB College of Business and Mercy College of Health Sciences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Comfort Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.