We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to change the sign” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Des Moines Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Des Moines Airport to your Saves list
Ramada Des Moines Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1810 Army Post Road, Des Moines, IA 50315 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Des Moines Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Merced, California, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Need to change the sign”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We got in late at night and drove right past it. The hotel sign was very confusing. Had a very nice breakfast - better than most hotels. Only a couple blocks from the airport - nice. Good value for an "airport" hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that look onto the interior areas. The outside views are dull. Our room was out of date...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelDSM, General Manager at Ramada Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing some feedback on your stay. We took your recommendation to heart and the sign is part of our renovation plans...look for some great changes at this hotel the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    23
    21
    13
See reviews for
32
18
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is TIRED!!! The photos of this place are misleading, the rooms are small, the beds are OK at best. The carpets don't look like they have been replaced since 1972. The bathrooms are dated as well. The place is need of landscaping in the worst way. When you pull in around the hotel there are weeds all over the place to welcome you to your room. When you see weeds surrounding the building you know you're in trouble. This is an airport hotel, so don't be surprised when you see jumbo jets touching down just outside your bedroom window. If you don't see them, you will certainly hear them. This is a Des Moines airport not JFK, so there aren't planes coming and going every second but more than enough to keep the fun going all night. The upside is that continental breakfast was decent. Also, skip the Bennigan's restaurant that is attached to the place, its as beaten down as the hotel is. I was happy to leave without any skin diseases, so that was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelDSM, General Manager at Ramada Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are going through some changes with management in both the restaurant and hotel as well as renovating different areas of the building including our guest rooms. We have discussed your concerns and are working to make the improvements necessary to ensure a quality guest experience. We hope you give us another opportunity the next time you are in Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel in major need of an overhaul. The rooms were clean, but out dated. We were with a large party and one of them had problems with the bathroom door knob and got stuck in the bathroom for a bit of time. The hotel staff was notified and the maintenance man fixed it immediately. The hallway carpets were very stained and appeared dirty. The pool area is a nice huge area, but the ceiling was in bad shape, the cement area around the pool seemed dirty which is unfortunate because you don't see many pools this large, or areas to sit around the pool this large any more. It was nice that our group was able to sit at the tables in the pool area and have a lot of room. The pool area was hot and humid, almost unbearable at times. We had to open a door to get some ventilation.
The Bennigans is connected which is nice, but the restaurant tables are sticky. Doesn't seem like they are dirty but both the table we sat at for our evening meal and the table we sat at for breakfast were sticky. Breakfast had potential, but many members of our party experienced cold pancakes and French toast.
It was pricey for the quality of the hotel.
The good news is that hotel is renovating and has the potential to be a great place. Unfortunately I don't think many members of our party would be willing to ever go back and give it another try.

Room Tip: Members of our party complained that the rooms near the pool were very humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Came in late; they allowed our pets which was good for an usually cold May night.
Breakfast ended too early for us to get any. Because we arrived after 1:00 we did not get up in time to eat. Breakfast til 10 would have been good. That was the only complaint.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The absolute best thing about this hotel is the staff. The desk clerk was wonderful. The breakfast host was attentive, friendly, and excellent. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was more than rolls, so I don't have room for complaints. In fact, I was so cozy in my bed that I accidentally slept in an extra hour. Another advantage is that this airport hotel is not under the flight paths, so it was quiet. However, ...

This hotel has recently changed names, so it wasn't in my Garmin. Oops. The carpets need replacement and things are generally dingy in appearance. I might have really freaked out about the bug in the coffee maker water well, but I am from Iowa and know a Box Elder bug when I see one (harmless and just trying to get out of the cold). On the other hand, it is evidence that the bugs have access.

If you get a good price and need an airport hotel, this is a fine spot, but do not expect luxury.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. There Bennigan's attached. Room was clean though a bit outdated. Some rooms face interior with your "window" facing the lobby - noisy. If your looking for a clean moderately priced room by the airport it fits the bill. On the plus side the bed was good quality

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munising, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was my first time staying at this motel. I was in Iowa for business and was scheduled to stay there the night before I flew home. The first room they gave me was a room next to the lobby with a window that faced inside the motel which meant I would have to keep my curtain drawn while there. I asked for another room which they gladly gave me however they asked if I needed a bathtub becuase they were going to give me a handicap room which did not have a tub.... I said that would be ok but asked if the motel was full that I wasn't able to have a regular room. They said no it was not. The carpet in the room was new.... however, the shower was not very inviting in that is was old looking and not very clean looking. I was on the first floor. The curtain had holes in it - which I have not seen in a motel before! The night stand had a clock but it wasn't plugged in because only one of the outlet plugins next to the bed did not work. The room really needed some updating as there was not a lap on the table but there was a floor lamp which I moved next to the bed in front of the bedside stand. The TV is was old and was not a very clear picture. I will say the bed was very comfy. I did use the room service from the attached restaurant. The service and food was good. I also ate at the complimentary breakfast which was ok. My biggest complaint would be the price - $107 for the room. I stayed at a Hampton for $99.75 and a Comfort Suites for $107.00 both very nice, updated rooms, clean, and a good continental breakfast. The location to the airport was convenient as I used the shuttle. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with a room I think they would be accommodating to switch you.... just not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Des Moines Airport

Address: 1810 Army Post Road, Des Moines, IA 50315 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Des Moines Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Des Moines Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Best Western
Best Western Des Moines
Ramada Des Moines Airport Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Des Moines Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.