We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth getting off the interstate for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mie Bakery

La Mie Bakery
841 42nd St, Des Moines, IA 50312
(515) 255-1625
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 502 restaurants in Des Moines
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth getting off the interstate for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch on a busy Saturday during a 9 hour drive. The food was excellent. I had the apple salad which had a lot of my favorite salad ingredients. My daughter is a vegetarian and was pleased with the number of vegetarian options. The serve yourself pastries were to die for. the prices of both our lunches and the pastries were suprisingly reasonable.
but the crowded, bustling, badly organized ambiance could be improved, as could the location - it's in an ugly old strip mall.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    82
    24
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Looking for somewhere Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just visited Des Moines for the weekend and just found this place by chance. It's in the most unassuming strip mall location. The minute we walked in we knew we'd found a great local place. Long line. Lots of beautiful pastries. Quick and efficient service. Hard to find a seat and ended up sitting with a wonderful little family. This is my kind of place! Food was great too. And be sure to visit the other businesses in the mall. They are really unique and interesting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OMYUMMM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Is there such thing as somthing bad here? Everything is perfect. Go early to avoid the line but if you are caught in a line, dont worry, it moves fast. Love love love it. seriously. just typing this review makes me want to go there right now. :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not for a business meet-up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I'm so glad they're here and that people enjoy it, for other reasons, but my boss kept using it as a place to meet people for coffee in the morning. This is after the rush. I asked her please stop because it is actually difficult for first timers to walk in and figure out how to get your coffee, your pastry, your condiments, napkins, it is arranged in a really inefficient way, and you are needlessly running all over the place. Then the management keeps changing where things are! Also, no wi-fi so the first person there could not check anything while waiting or during the meet. So no "meet me for coffee at La Mie" try Zanzibar instead for that purpose. Obviously it is not their purpose anyway so this review is not really a negative criticism.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love La Mie...their bakery treats, coffee, sandwiches and desserts. Have never had a bad meal! They get crowded EARLY and run out of their most well known baked items (like the other reviewer mentioned), so if you have your heart set on some delicious bread or pasteries, get going asap in the morning! They used to serve dinner, which I miss SO MUCH, was the best salmon I've found in DSM yet! BRING BACK DINNER!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mie Bakery also viewed

 

Been to La Mie Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mie Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.