We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible unorganized management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 E 30th Street, Des Moines, IA 50312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Hopkinton, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible unorganized management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Paid 200.00 for a room I was told I never had. I made a reservation 1 year in advance and they made me put my reservation in seperate names. Who does that? Then when I called 10 months later they told me I only had one room only to find out after the first night of our stay that I had two rooms and I had been charged for the empty room full price and they would not refund me a penny. Very poor management and high priced for a low end hotel. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I'm sorry that you feel it necessary to post this kind of review. when the problem was that YOU made two reservations in two seperate names and paid for the two rooms and then YOU forgot. At which time you wanted us to take responsiblility for your not checking into the second room. You felt like we should have told you that we had mulitple rooms for individuals with the same last name and that is against our safety policies. We also provided you with mulitple confirmations. So I do apologize for any confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
9
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'm in Des Moines twice per month for work and I stayed here on July 29th. It is on a busy road however my room was 3rd floor rear and I never heard a thing. The hotel is a good value for the money. I tried this hotel after having a horrible experience at another Des Moines property and would definitely return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We have recently updated our rooms. So please come agian, I am sure you will enjoy the new bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stay frequently at Choice Hotels - usually Comfort Suites and nice Comfort Inns. I had not stayed at an Econolodge before, but there were not a lot of available options for the two nights I needed in Des Moines.

I tried this out based on other reviews and was very satisfied. I was upgraded to a suite and the room was clean and the bed comfortable. It was steaming hot outside, and the air unit I had worked great! Nice tv with lots of channels. Wi-fi was was good enough (went down for a bit, but worked most of the time). Probably the most important thing for me is that it was quiet. Not a lot of guests on those days, but still didn't hear much noise.

I give it a 4 rating as a budget hotel. It was a charmless place - but worked. Pool looked budget. No fitness room. There were a couple breakfast items, not much, but at least something. The staff was busy, but friendly and willing to help. Iron's at front desk and iron boards little things that make ironing a little extra of a challenge.

The location is a right across from the fairgrounds. It's on the old east end of town. Not a lot of good places to eat right there. But I had meetings downtown and it took me less than 10 minutes commute without extra cost of hotel and parking required at downtown hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We love to hear from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fine bed and linens. The first floor carpet is worn but they mentioned the 3rd level rooms have been renovated lately. Really fine for the money. Breakfast bit above average for continental. Many other restaurants close by, close to I-80. I didn't see the pool as had no time or need for it.

Room Tip: Third floor has been redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and choosing to stay with us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Not the best, but worth the low cost. Convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope you always enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

i came in 2009 and it was bad it smelled, was dirty and the staff wasnt so nice but i have been here two nights now and it is much better! i know it is on a busy street but the pool is on the back side and i havent heard a single car. the rooms r much cleaner (may not be top of the line like im used to but worth it for the money) staff is much better and nicer... well worth it for the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We have been working diligently to provide the best guest experience. Our staff appreciated the review. It helps them strive to provide top notch guest and room service when they hear it from you. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Heather Clair GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast was kinda lame...and the pool smelled funky but the rooms are nice

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for writing this review. It helps to know which areas are in need of attention. Heather Clair GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 410 E 30th Street, Des Moines, IA 50312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Des Moines
Des Moines Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.