We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 E 30th Street, Des Moines, IA 50312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Oskaloosa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fine bed and linens. The first floor carpet is worn but they mentioned the 3rd level rooms have been renovated lately. Really fine for the money. Breakfast bit above average for continental. Many other restaurants close by, close to I-80. I didn't see the pool as had no time or need for it.

Room Tip: Third floor has been redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and choosing to stay with us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
9
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Not the best, but worth the low cost. Convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope you always enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

i came in 2009 and it was bad it smelled, was dirty and the staff wasnt so nice but i have been here two nights now and it is much better! i know it is on a busy street but the pool is on the back side and i havent heard a single car. the rooms r much cleaner (may not be top of the line like im used to but worth it for the money) staff is much better and nicer... well worth it for the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We have been working diligently to provide the best guest experience. Our staff appreciated the review. It helps them strive to provide top notch guest and room service when they hear it from you. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Heather Clair GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast was kinda lame...and the pool smelled funky but the rooms are nice

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for writing this review. It helps to know which areas are in need of attention. Heather Clair GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Located right across the street from the State Fairground entrance. It is located on a busy street, so there was some traffic noise. We had a "KING SUITE" King size bed with a pull out couch, which was not real comfortable.The room was very big.The complex is a few years old, but it was not in aged condtion. They seemed to keep it upgraded. Price was right at $100. We were there on a Sunday, and the breakfast was better than some complimentary ones. Some one mentioned it was not that good during the week, but I can't confirm that. The only elevator was broke on Sunday morning, so that was kind of an issue.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room facing the parking lot, instead of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I apologize about the elevator. Hope if you travel in our area you choose to stay with us again. Heather Clair GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

All should know first off one side of the hotel sits on a very busy street (loud trucks/motorcycles going by constantly). We got a "suite" which consisted of two "double" beds and a softbed. Definitely roomy, however, there were four of us staying in this room (a room that the website accommodates up to six) and there is one mirror above the sink in the bathroom. A few more mirrors in the actual room would be extremely helpful. I'm not sure where they found the double beds -- my husband and I barely fit in the bed and at 5'9", his feet were off the edge! Also, our son couldn't use the sheets on the sofabed because they were like "cardboard". There was a horse show in town when we stayed and the breakfast area is extremely small and definitely not enough room to accommodate all who wished to eat. Definitely some improvements need to be made.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are working on some updates and all reviews help us to know which areas still need to be addressed . Thank you Heather Clair GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I am a disabled veteran on kidney dialysis, which always makes long-distance travel a challenge. But I refuse to be defined by kidney disease. Grateful to have lived long enough to reach the age of 50, I decided to celebrate the Big 5-0 by taking a vacation to Des Moines, I chose the Econo Lodge because it was cheaper than staying downtown, and was on a city bus line (very important to me, because I choose a car-free life), A fairly new facility, my room was a wheelchair-accessible suite on the !st floor with microwave and refrigerator, free Wi-Fi, a flat-screen TV, and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast had a good variety of items: bagels, donuts, make-your-own waffles, mini-omelets, biscuits and gravy, and fruit.

The location was in a quiet, blue-collar neighborhood right across the street from the Iowa State Fairgrounds. Right across the street is a bus stop for Des Moines Area Regional Transit's #1 route--only a 15 minute trip to downtown (please keep in mind that bus service ends around 5 PM daily...) Restaurants and shopping was within walking distance on University Avenue (I walk with a cane, and it took me less than 15 minutes...)

I wish to single out two people for going above and beyond on customer service. Heather was kind enough to let me store my luggage and food temporarily, since no early check-in was offered and I needed to get to kidney dialysis near downtown and did not want to carry all that stuff with me. And Kendra was really sweet, baking her homemade sugar cookies and offering me extra (because I was greedy...) As a proud employee of Taco Bell who works in the service/hospitality industry, I know that little things can mean a lot...

All in all, a pleasant experience. If my travels take me to Des Moines again, I will definitely consider returning here again. Compared to other Econo Lodge facilities I have stayed at, this one was among the best

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We absolutely enjoyed having you here, and if you travel this way again please come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 410 E 30th Street, Des Moines, IA 50312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Des Moines
Des Moines Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.