We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast from the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Life Lounge

High Life Lounge
200 SW 2nd Street, Des Moines, IA 50309
515-280-1965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 47 nightlife in Des Moines
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Attraction Details
West Des Moines, IA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

If you want a place that reminds you of your Grandparent's basement, her it is. The decor is 70's beer culture. The don't serve any beer made after 1982. Thankfully, el Bait Shop is next door. The food is cheap and surprisingly tasty. The broasted chicken is fantastic, the roast beef is good, the bacon-wrapped tater tots are great, and the Velvet Elvis is just amazing. It's a fun place to take your older relatives, they'll appreciate the nostalgia.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken in Des Moines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Heard about this place from co-workers decided to finally try it. I ordered the breast/wing with mac n cheese and BBQ baked beans - everything was delicious! No expensive at all the whole meal $9.00. Will definitely go back there.

Atmosphere is it looks like a neighborhood bar with old time decor but remember you're not there for the decor you're there for the food.

Full Bar

Enjoy!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Good cheap food and cheap beer on 'crappy beer night' but the staff are worthless.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Service is a joke, waitresses and bartenders are basically worthless - even by 'drive-bar' standards. Bartenders will just stare into space while you stand there waving a $20 and shouting for thier attention. Waitresses are even worse. They'll spend all their time talking with each other and not doing much else. Started a tab at the bar and then moved to a table after things opened up. We go to leave and she gives me only my bill from the table and refuses to combine the totals or to walk the extra three feet to the bar register to close out my bar tab. they also left a paying party of seven standing while a single individual held FIVE tables of four seats each for almost two hours -- and last week we were told that customers are not allowed to reserve tables.

Good cheap food and cheap beer on 'crappy beer night' but the staff are worthless.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Thursday - Crappy Beer Night {cheap beer} and cheap {good food} eats make a great combo--- try it you will like it...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“What the heck?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

How is this possibly the number 5 thing to do in Des Moines. Cheap looking, scuzzy, dated bar. Another fine testament to the low standards of Iowan's. Paneling, shag carpet, etc. Went to a company function after hours here, I think I stayed for 15 minutes until the guest of honor arrived and I could give my congrats. I'm not sure what the appeal is but I would give this place lowest marks in pretty much every possible way. To be fair I did not eat here so I can't comment on the food but even if it was the best food imagineable (which I find doubtful) I still think I'd never find a reason to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Life Lounge also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to High Life Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Life Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added High Life Lounge to your Saves list