We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly, great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raccoon River Brewing Company - CLOSED

Raccoon River Brewing Company
200 10th Street, Des Moines, IA
515-362-5222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mullbery
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Family-friendly, great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate at Raccoon River on a Friday evening with three kids. We did not have to wait to be seated, but the restaurant was comfortably full. It is in a historic space with tall ceilings and we really enjoyed sitting by the mural of Gray's Lake.

Service was prompt and we were pleasantly surprised by the offerings on the menu and the prices. Kids meals are $4.95 and include an entree, side and drink. Our kids had a cheeseburger (was the size of an adults) and the hotdog. They happily subbed fresh fruit for french fries.

The adults in our party had a Pub Salad with Grilled Chicken and the house vinaigrette, Greek Salad, and a chicken sandwich with fresh grilled veggies as a side. We had a large variety of food items and everything was absolutely delicious. It is a nice relaxed atmosphere. We did not feel rushed and the server was punctual with bringing the check and getting us out of there, which is much appreciated when dining with kids!

Parking can be a bit difficult downtown. We were able to find a spot in the alley behind the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    35
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Our dinner started with an order of fresh homemade beers and they were fantastic. Also, the server was more than helpful when we asked for samples of the beer. As for the food I ordered the fish market tuba sandwich and my wife got the Guy Hawkes burger. Both were absolutely delicious and more than enough food for the price. Overall it was such a nice surprise and we shall surely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer and decent atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've always had a good experience here. Good beer and food and there's almost always seating. While this isn't my favorite spot downtown, it's close, especially in a pinch because you can be seated pretty quickly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My friend and I stopped here for a pre-race dinner and had wonderful meal. She enjoyed a taco pizza, while I ate (a lot of!) the mac and cheese with chicken. Absolutely delicious, nice servers, and relaxed atmosphere. We were within walking distance of our downtown hotel, too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was good the service was good the prices were pretty good as well I went with a large group but the waitress had no trouble keeping up with random orders and constant drink refills

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raccoon River Brewing Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raccoon River Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.