We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Mango

Flying Mango
4345 Hickman Rd, Des Moines, IA 50310-3352
515-277-1830
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 509 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Latin, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Urbandale, Iowa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ordered the whole chicken and got a very black, very dry bird. Not quite like chewing leather but it made me think of that. Should have sent it back but didn't. My wife's meal was "ok". We have eaten here before but were very disappointed this day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    56
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Brisket in Des Moines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is my favorite restaurant in the Des Moines area. I regularly recommend Flying Mango to friends. They have, by far, the best beef brisket I've had in Iowa. There is limited seating, but it makes for a nice intimate setting. They take a limited amount of reservations in order to be able accommodate walk in traffic. The portions are generous and every bite is flavorful. I always receive excellent service. Parking was sparse in the past, but they've expanded parking across the side street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The food is great and the service is very good. The drinks are the weak part of the meal. --- we would go again for the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not our plan... but even better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were in Des Moines to go to Adventureland and we were in the mood for barbecue for dinner. The clerk at the front desk had recommended another place, but when we got there, it was packed. We used our GPS to look for another place, and we decided on Flying Mango. Boy, did we luck out! They do serve barbecue, but SO much more. My husband and I went with the brisket (amazing!), and our son hesitantly opted for the Louisiana Platter. He was very happy he did- it was wonderful! They seemed surprised when we walked in and didn't have a reservation, but we were able to get a seat right away. If you go after 6, I'd make a reservation- it filled up about that time.
The owner was fun, friendly and even filled up our water himself a few times. Our waitress was wonderful and made suggestions that really helped us decide from their large menu. The food is not your normal run of the mill choices- no French fries and plain mashed potatoes here. So many eclectic choices that change daily. I only wish we lived closer so we could try more of what they offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to Des Moines for the weekend and had made reservations here and this was definitely worth the trip! Our waitress was wonderful, she was very attentive, she was busy with cocktail for the people waiting as well. We had ordered the fish tacos as a appetizer, they were awesome, she had recommended this sauce to put on it, it made them more amazing! At that point I couldn't wait for the main course. My husband had the smoked pork loin and I had the lime and garlic shrimp with fettuccine, both were very good. The only bad thing I could say was the wait between the appetizer and the main course, but they were really busy. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Mango also viewed

 

Been to Flying Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.