We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening place but average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Centro Restaurant

Centro Restaurant
1003 Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-2805
(515) 248-1780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Centro Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 502 Restaurants in Des Moines
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th Street
Description: Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Happening place but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Centro is in the heart of revitalized downtown. It was hopping when I was there and I liked the room but the food was pretty average. The fried brussels sprouts and fried portabello mushroom apps were enormous. The mushrooms, however, were only tepid when served--not made to order. The entree choices were pretty standard for an American/Italian place. They apparently couldn't sell veal saltimbocca so I had the chicken version which was good for over sauced. I'd suggest Django closeby instead.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    103
    31
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camdenton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“To pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate here in June 2012 for my sisters wedding. The food and service was good. But was more then I would normally spend on a dinner and it the food took a long time to arrive. The waiter kept wanting us to by more drinks while we were waiting on our food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Cosmopolitan Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Located in downtown Des Moines, this place is special, particularly in nice weather when you can sit outside under a big canopy. Four of us had a truly lovely early supper on a Sunday evening. The food is exceptionally good, the prices are not outrageous. Some excellent salads and sandwiches for around $12. Service is excellent. I agree with another reviewer that the noise level is rather high inside, but outside on the patio there is no problem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best food I found in Des Moines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was in Des Moines on business for a week and this place had the best food I found the entire time I was in Des Moines. Thanks Centro, you have my recommendation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our B&B hosts recommended this spot. It was wonderful. Great atmosphere, great food. We had a wonderful dinner. Service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Restaurant also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Centro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.