We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true landmark for the East side.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tursi's Latin King Restaurant

Ranked #16 of 499 Restaurants in Des Moines
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A true landmark for the East side.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

In case you have been living in a cave in Des Moines everyone knows that Tursi's could very well be the oldest restaurant in Des Moines. They have packed the house for almost, if not a generation. The food is well above average and the service is very well staffed. Over the years Tursi's has changed their decor to except the every growing amount of customers which has been a big plus in their success. Romantic atmosphere is the key word here also, but depending where you are seated you might want to bring a flash light to read the menu. A wide selection of entries to choose from and all our top notch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    33
    7
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Can't be beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Seperately, everything would be excellent. But together...the dining experience at Latin King can't be beat. There is no comparison! when you combine the ambiance, the staff, the food, the wine and the caring owners together, it is just the best dining experience in Des Moines, if not Iowa!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious variety of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I keep thinking of Latin King as mainly Italian, but we went there for dinner mid-week and while there's plenty of Italian food [lots of pasta!], there were plenty of other options as well. The food was excellent and the service also. Our server was a woman who clearly had worked there for years and enjoyed her work and did an excellent job.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
“Grew up going to this place. It was my fathers favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I haven't been going here since it was remodeled, but I have fond memories from when my family went there when I was growing up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of Des Moines Top Ranked Restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you like Italian Cuisine then you will love Tursi's Latin King Restaurant. Authentic Italian family recipes from Italy, coupled with a great atmosphere and awesome wine selection - need I say more. When in Des Moines put it at the top of your to-do list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tursi's Latin King Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tursi's Latin King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tursi's Latin King Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.