We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Des Moines' best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoq

Hoq
303 E 5th, Des Moines, IA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 502 Restaurants in Des Moines
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Des Moines' best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It must be the best restaurant in Des Moines, cannot imagine better. Nice wine and cocktail list. Between us we had oysters Rockefeller, halibut, and a strip steak to die for, plus tasty house made desserts. Would return again... and again... and again. Pretty adult fare, but there was a large family gathering at another table, and the kids seemed happy. But I would not call this a family restaurant. Cost for drinks and dinner with dessert, $100.00, and well worth it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adel, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Organic Ingrediants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been to HoQ in Des Moines' East Village several times during the past year. We have always had a great meal each and every time. A great selections of Iowa beers to choose from to start the night and a wonderful array of locally grown organic choices on the menu. Unique combinations of ingrediants always have you coming back for something different on the next visit. The wait staff are first class.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High Quality, whole foods from local folks--what more can you ask for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Really enjoyed the food quality. The fusion of flavors was amazing (I ordered the chicken dish for dinner). Portion size was not "supersized" but will fill most people's appetites (eat slow and savor it). I would go back again in a heartbeat, but next time I will try lunch as their dinner menu is great but a tad overpriced, even for very high quality local cuisine.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not So Fresh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Three of us ate lunch at HOQ. One chose wisely. The other two chose poorly.
Our dining partner chose the quiche, which was a lovely high stacked concoction, and she said it was delicious.

Alas, we chose the grilled cheese sandwich with local cheddar and salmon along with salad made of local greens, cheese and pear. First, the grilled cheese sandwich was not what we expected. It looked like they had taken the bread basket pieces from a baguette and tried to fashion a sandwich out of it...bread was misshaped, there was not enough cheese in it to call it a grilled cheese sandwich, nor was there enough salmon in it to call it a grilled salmon sandwich... In fact, the little sandwich pieces were so dry and hard to eat, we left 1/2 of it untouched.

The side salad was composed of greens that were very brown on the ends. The gourmet cheese shavings on top tasted as if they had been cut some time ago--and had absorbed the taste of the saran wrap. so much for fresh farm to table fare.

we did get an order of ice cream and cookies. that was delicious..

i hate to diss a local restaurant that is trying to do farm to table--but this was really disappointing. I even called the restaurant to give them candid feedback and I felt the call was for naught...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great local ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Terrific locally sourced ingredients make up the fabulous, imaginative entrees. The friendly staff was helpful and attentive. Would definitely go out of my way for a return visit next time I'm in Des Moines.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoq also viewed

Des Moines, IA
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Hoq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.