We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Iowa State Fair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn Motel

Village Inn Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Village Inn Motel to your Saves list
Village Inn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1348 E Euclid Ave, NE 14th St Euclid Ave, Des Moines, IA 50316   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Clark, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for Iowa State Fair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Spent 3 nights at Village Inn during the Iowa State Fair .... facilities were clean and comfortable ... everything we needed. Not fancy at all, but worked out well for us. Staff was friendly and we plan to return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
7
1
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a cheap motel. Marginal for most travelers. It looks like they house some people for the county and they do not look so good. The place smells of smoke. But the rooms are clean enough. The neighborhood is OK but I cannot imagine any reason to stay in this part of DM. The price is low enough. The front office is locked up all night.

Room Tip: There really is no credible place to eat here. The McDonalds across Euclid is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

It's an older motel, located about half a mile south of I-80 in a commercial area of town. Mediocre rooms. No security. Parking lot was poorly lit. Main lobby is in lock-down mode, but the doors on the side of the building leading to the guest rooms are left unlocked. No key required, so criminals have easy access to guest rooms from the outside. The motel clerk at the front desk is very well protected.............can't say the same thing for the guests, though.

Room Tip: When we saw the condition of this motel we cancelled our reservation, and stayed at another (much be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are horrible the staff is rude the room service is terrible not worthwhile at all better off driving a little bit further to find a better motel if you don't believe me just stay in one for yourself and you'll find
out

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel staff was nice, but that is where it ends the room itself is horrific. The bathroom has hair on toliet and in tub it did not drain was standing in 3 inches of water while showering did not even have shampoo. As for the rest of the room the carpets are stained and blankets are ripped!! Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I found the staff and hotel to be very nice! And the room was very clean and reasonably priced. Was there 2 nights and even left a tip for the maid! Close to a casino added to the attraction for me. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

was there this weekend had a mexican girl come out one of the rooms speaking on the phone as I ask her a guestion she blew me off then probably didnt think I understood her in her speak to the love on her phone she call me a the bad word as fnb, I looked at her in shock... when I called the front desk to fine out this ones name they said Maraya what room I said thank you so I'm writing this.....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Motel

Address: 1348 E Euclid Ave, NE 14th St Euclid Ave, Des Moines, IA 50316
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Village Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Village Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Motel Des Moines, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.