We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to spend a dat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blank Park Zoo

Blank Park Zoo
7401 S.W. Ninth St., Des Moines, IA 50315
515-285-4722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Attractions in Des Moines
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wide variety of animals are housed in natural settings at this 22-acre, relatively small zoo, dedicated to caring for the over 800 animals, educating the public about different species, and generating fun experiences for children, such as crawling through simulated prairie dog tunnels and feeding, petting and riding animals.
Lake Havasu City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a dat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My Wife and I really enjoyed our day at the Zoo. Smaller than Brookfield or Lincoln Park Zoo in Chicago,IL But such a pleasant setting plenty of shade and benches. Nice indoor area to see the bird collection.
The desk clerk at the Days Inn (airport) we stayed at had discount tickets for the zoo.
We would recommend this as a nice side trip while in Des Moines.
Also a nice lake to walk around with running and bike path was near by the airport. Get directions from the desk staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    94
    45
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I thought I was in Lincoln Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Blank Park Zoo has come a long way since I last visited 10 years ago. All visitors must feed the giraffe's and ride the camel!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent staff with the Camels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited the last weekend in August during a heat wave. Arrived at the zoo just after opening before it got too hot. Entrance staff were very nice and helpful. The Australian area and children's zoo employees couldn't be bothered to speak to us even though we were the only ones in the area. The staff with the camels were so polite and chatty. The answered questions and told us about the animals. Great visit!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, IA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“small zoo but great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The zoo was small but great, we went to specifically see a sloth, but on arrival had found out, it had passed away prior to our visit.....Don't waste your money on the train ride, it lasts about 3 min and you don't see anything spectacular. overall it was a good trip!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Smaller Zoo with Plenty to See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Blank Park Zoo is a great zoo to visit if you have a couple hours of free time. The park is well-spaced out and the animals have fairly spacious exhibits. It is possible to get close to the animals; you are often able to walk through the habitat itself (very neat with the wallabies). There is a nice children's zoo that seemed quite active and busy as we passed by. They have a small aquarium which is well-kept.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blank Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Blank Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blank Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.