We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Des Lux continues Suites of 800 Locust quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Des Lux Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Des Lux Hotel to your Saves list
Des Lux Hotel
800 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Des Lux continues Suites of 800 Locust quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

There may have been a slight bump in the changeover between Suites of Locust and Des Lux, but it's back on track now--hair dryer, robes, and all. I enjoyed the intimate bar, the sumptuous breakfast, the classic/modern appointed rooms, the spa tub and amenities. They have an omelet maker on site at 7 am making omelets to order. Good coffee, plenty of fruit, breads, waffles, etc. The staff was small but made us feel very welcome and assured that they would do everything they could to make our stay comfortable. It was the perfect location for exploring the small, eclectic/art shops in the area. Excellent dining close by as well.

I had an early flight out on Monday, too early for their airport shuttle, but they made arrangements for a taxi (at my expense, of course), but the taxi was there waiting when I came into the lobby. I couldn't have asked for anything nicer than this stay at the Des Lux.

Room Tip: My only view was of two parking garages, but I wasn't there for the view. For me, the view was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
22
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Mi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Spent 3 nights here 2 weeks ago and went back this weekend. Changed name in that time so I assume new ownership. Have stayed here 5 or 6 times over years. This time it was the small stuff. No bag for laundry. No hair dryer. They cleaned room but did not replace shampoo or soap. Always had robes for use but not this time. Was any of this the end of the world - no. But when you are used to things at a place you notice. Also they need to fix faucets from leaking. Like I said small stuff.

Room Tip: EZ walking to good restaurants and bars. If there to shop you are in wrong hotel head to West Des Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Stayed 1 night for business trip. Well located in business district about 10 minute cab ride from airport. Hotel had just completed rebranding to "Des Lux" and was having grand opening the evening I checked in. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful--checked me in for my outbound flight on my morning of departure and printed my boarding passes. Bed was very comfortable--on par if not better than Westin Heavenly Bed. Hotel offers continental breakfast from 5:30-7:30 am and then cooked to order omelets from 7:30-9:30 am. Chef preparing omelettes did great job. Couple of nitpicks--wi fi, while free, lacks strength and should be upgraded. I was disconnected from wi fi many times while trying to get work done. My room on the 3rd floor had a window that looked out over an internal atrium/meeting room space on the ground floor which was odd, and it was noisy when people were talking in the meeting room as the room had a marble floor. To be fair, at nighttime this was not an issue--my room was very quiet. The hotel is within walking distance to many of the large businesses downtown, and to the restaurant Centro at which I had a terrific dinner.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Do not stay at Suites of 800 Locust! The website makes this place look awesome, but it is a real let down. Rooms are so so--a little dated-looking for my taste. I also thought it odd that there was no dresser or set of drawers to put your clothes in, and only 3 hangers in the closet. The spa is a joke. They advertise some great services, but when we tried to book body treatments they said they no longer offer them. The hotel is in the midst of being sold, so there is no spa staff any more. They can book a "regular massage" from an independent masseuse if you give enough advance notice. The steam room did not work, and we asked the guy at the front desk to get it going. He said he'd be right down, but never came. Later we learned he was the ONLY person on duty in the ENTIRE hotel. I am confused as to the recent reviews I've read, because they reflect nothing of what we experienced. We decided to pack up and move to the Mariott. Cheaper, more up to date, and, lo and behold, people to take care of every need. Should have known not to stay at a "boutique" hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, General Manager at Des Lux Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear KQDBQ,
I do apologize for the events that took place during your stay. We are indeed going through a change and have been working on it the last several months. In prepping for our re branding of the hotel to The Des Lux Hotel we have updated to flat screen tv’s, triple sheeting, seating in the rooms, a new shuttle van for airport transportation as well as in town. The changes continue daily we are very excited to launch our new brand and website this September. We will take your experience with the steam room to mind and reevaluate the timing on the unit to better serve our guest. I do hope you enjoyed your time in the steam room once we override the timer for you, did not want to bother you once you where inside the steam room.

Best Regards
Carl Deeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were in Des Moines for the fair and we were book at another chain hotel. When we arrived we were informed that they had overbook, but if we where willing to move they had us booked at 800 Locust Hotel. All room are suites. It is also what I would call a boutique Hotel about 50 rooms. We had the good fortune to have a young Lady by the Madison show us the property and help us get settled in. When we came back to the desk she helped us make a choice for a restaurant that evening. The hotel is clean and quite nice they are doing a little updating and some boxes were in the lobby certainly not a big problem. They had a breakfast in the morning and parking is available in a city ramp across the street and on weekends it's free. There are several restaurants in the area within one to three blocks away. A solid 41/2 Star property

Room Tip: Some of the Suites have a fireplace and some a whirlpool. pick the one that fits your needs. they al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, General Manager at Des Lux Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Stan Y,
Thank you for the kind review, we look forward to your next trip to Des Moines. No need to wait for the next state fair.
Warmest Regards
Carl Deeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast Chef cooks a great omelette! The hotel and our room were clean and tastefully decorated. Beds were comfortable and made w/ nice linens. Location was perfect! Loved the Sat. Morning Farmers Market! A lot of places to eat w/in walking distance and even if driving the city is easy to navigate. On the downside...the internet is a bit slow...but maybe that is a good thing if you need to unplug a bit! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, General Manager at Des Lux Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Susan W.
Thank you for the kind review, also thank you for the note on the wifi we recently updated the system and as it seems will be adding a few access points to provide a faster signal.
Warmest Regards
Carl Deeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a great stay this past weekend. To begin, this hotel is very CLEAN!!!!!!! The beds were firm but very comfortable with the bedding provided. The whirlpool closes at 10pm, but was very inviting and useful. This hotel has the largest work out facility I have ever seen in a hotel. (6000 sq ft. of equipment)

We were informed at check-in that the hotel offered a free breakfast every morning cooked by an executive chef. The breakfast was amazing to include the made to order omelet's and waffles. The only compliant we had was that the thermostat in our room did not seem to work. The room was about 75-80 degrees the entire night, and we prefer a temperature of 65-70 degrees while sleeping. Although the thermostat appeared to work, it did not. When we checked out we alerted the hotel sales manager to the issue. The only other minor issue is that the front desk was lacking personnel. We came down twice to ask a question, but no one was present after 8 pm.

Room Tip: Stay above the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Des Lux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Lux Hotel

Address: 800 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa)
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These are no ordinary accommodations The largest in Des Moines and among the most welcoming anywhere, many Des Lux rooms and suites indulge with fireplaces and whirlpools. From our King Executive Rooms to the lavishly appointed Presidential Suite you will enjoy an array of signature amenities and the satisfaction of knowing that you could not possibly have chosen a more comfortable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Des Lux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of 800 Locust Hotel Des Moines
Hotel Of 800 Locust
Des Lux Hotel Des Moines, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Lux Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.