We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably nicest hotel in Des Moines - if that is saying much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa
800 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Probably nicest hotel in Des Moines - if that is saying much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nearly ten years ago, this was the nicest hotel in Des Moines. It is showing a bit of its age as it hasn't been updated much and getting a little tired. Pros: nice beds and linens. Good location. Cons: Not connected via Skyway and Check-in always seems to take longer than it should. I have stayed here at least 10 times over last ten years and it is always "fine". Not necessarily overly memorable, but nicer than any other hotel I have stayed in Des Moines (over 10 others at last count).

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
19
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I travel to Des Moines on business 4 or 5 times a year. Each trip is for a full week, I request this hotel every time. The room is very clean, the bed is comfortable, and the service is second to none. I really like the well equiped gym, complete with a dry sauna and a steam room. The custom made breakfast every morning is a good way to start off the day. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

A year ago the hotel was full (Iowa Caucus) and I had to stay at the chain hotel I usually stay at when i travel. It just did not compare to the Suites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The room as well as the hotel could use some major renovation. The television was probably 15 years old. The hotel does not offer any premium channels or any on-demand type service. The bedding is vastly inferior to other upscale hotels. In fact the blanket looked to be over ten years old and had burn marks throughout and was not very warm or comforting. No valet parking as website states. You must park across the street and haul your luggage through the parking and across the street on your own. I can only assume that the other reviews by people saying how great it was have never stayed at a comparably priced hotel where there are vastly enhanced amenities or planted by the hotel itself.

All in all, I will be staying at the Marriott the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: This hotel is not worth the nightly rate - their are other hotels in the same price range that are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Front desk staff, housekeeping, lounge, location, all top of the line. We had a reservation for a fireplace corner suite. Our room was not a corner suite! The room was great but was not on a corner. The price difference was 20$.

Room Tip: Check the romm number before you go to see if you get what you're paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

My booking was last minute and I am so glad we chose this hotel! We got a great deal and the staff was wonderful! They helped us find a place to have dinner and were very friendly. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our room had a fire place which was so nice. My only suggestion is to update the TV's. You could only watch if you were on the bed because of the cabinet it was housed in. It was a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

fantastic hotel, quiet with very friendly staff. Very nice rooms, close to some great restaurants. well worth the money to stay at. Next time I'm back in Des Moines I will stay there again! Bed was very comfortable, and room was very clean. Great find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here just one night on a business trip. Rooms are spacious with nice architectural features. Mine had a cove ceiling with indirect lighting and one wall was brick. The bath was outdated but functional and large. Front desk staff was very friendly and the bar and lobby area are richly appointed with dark wood and antiques. It did seem a bit dark overall, but given a choice, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa

Address: 800 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of 800 Locust Hotel Des Moines
Hotel Of 800 Locust
Suites Of 800 Locust Hotel And Spa Des Moines, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.