We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Des Lux Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Des Lux Hotel to your Saves list
Des Lux Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Des Moines
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Front desk staff, housekeeping, lounge, location, all top of the line. We had a reservation for a fireplace corner suite. Our room was not a corner suite! The room was great but was not on a corner. The price difference was 20$.

Room Tip: Check the romm number before you go to see if you get what you're paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
30
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My booking was last minute and I am so glad we chose this hotel! We got a great deal and the staff was wonderful! They helped us find a place to have dinner and were very friendly. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our room had a fire place which was so nice. My only suggestion is to update the TV's. You could only watch if you were on the bed because of the cabinet it was housed in. It was a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

fantastic hotel, quiet with very friendly staff. Very nice rooms, close to some great restaurants. well worth the money to stay at. Next time I'm back in Des Moines I will stay there again! Bed was very comfortable, and room was very clean. Great find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here just one night on a business trip. Rooms are spacious with nice architectural features. Mine had a cove ceiling with indirect lighting and one wall was brick. The bath was outdated but functional and large. Front desk staff was very friendly and the bar and lobby area are richly appointed with dark wood and antiques. It did seem a bit dark overall, but given a choice, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good location but rooms are very outdated. The bedding in particular was of terrible quality. The blankets and comforter were totally synthetic and did nothing to keep you warm. The breakfast in the morning was a nice touch.
My room was huge but the lighting was really bad. It was very difficult to do work in the room without totally straining your eyes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennslyvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I recently spent an evening at the 800 Locust Hotel and Spa and found it to be a very relaxing stay. Check in was actually fun and the staff was engaging and helpful. The room was spacious and had all the ammenities I needed as a business traveler. There was a complimentary breakfast buffet (at least for me) that included personally made omlets and other items one usually gets for $20 at a normal well stocked breakfast buffet. The location was right in the center of downtown and nearby to all of the usual downtown businesses, restaurants, etc. The workout room was very nice featuring stationary cycles and walkers with weights, etc. All in all a very good time there. I would highly recommend this place. I guess it gets a lot of use the the Iowa Caucuses, but who knows???!!!

Room Tip: They are all suites and it always seems to be a good idea to get a higher floor when staying in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was very nice. The lobby and rooms were gorgeous, as you expect in an older hotel. Each room was very unique and comfortable, most with fireplaces. The single elevator was frustrating at times, just don't be in a hurry! The spa and fitness center was AMAZING. The staff was very friendly and helpful at the front desk. The breakfast was good, but understaffed. Housekeeping was slow, but did a good job cleaning. We were there for a wedding and it was great to have everyone in the same hotel and the opportunity to gather in the lobby and Spa for extra time visiting with friends.

Room Tip: Go for the corner suites, they are very roomy and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Savery Hotel
Renaissance Savery Hotel
#10 of 47 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 47 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Lux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Lux Hotel

Address: 800 Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Suites of 800 Locust Hotel and Spa)
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Des Lux Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These are no ordinary accommodations The largest in Des Moines and among the most welcoming anywhere, many Des Lux rooms and suites indulge with fireplaces and whirlpools. From our King Executive Rooms to the lavishly appointed Presidential Suite you will enjoy an array of signature amenities and the satisfaction of knowing that you could not possibly have chosen a more comfortable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Des Lux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of 800 Locust Hotel Des Moines
Hotel Of 800 Locust
Des Lux Hotel Des Moines, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Lux Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.