We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Building Is A Work Of Art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Des Moines Art Center

Des Moines Art Center
4700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50312-2099
515 277 4405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Attractions in Des Moines
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This internationally acclaimed museum houses impressive works by artists of the 19th and 20th centuries, including Edward Hopper, Georgia O'Keefe and Henri Matisse. The center, which also offers art classes, consists of three buildings, each designed by a celebrated architect: Eliel Saarinen, I.M. Pei and Richard Meier.
London, England
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
163 attraction reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“The Building Is A Work Of Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This establishment houses many works of art, mainly of the Modern Genre which, to me are quite interesting, but I'm more of a traditionalist where art is concerned, HOWEVER the building is absolutely fantastic and worthy of a visit in its own right. An architectural masterpiece which I enjoyed very much. The staff are very helpful and friendly and one particular guy was very knowledgeable about the architecture.
Don't like Art - Go Visit for the Building.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    29
    8
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The buildings are even more fabulous than the art, and they have some masters. Most impressed by the way they experiment, like art that's made to go with the spaces.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,IL
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Wish I had more TIME to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Des Moines Art Center has a fince collection of many types of art in a great setting. The morning I stopped in it was very busy as they had a new installation going in. I enjoyed the video work of Gilad Ratman " The Days of Family" This will be a challange to your mind-- its fun. They have some very nice photos by Danny Lyons from his early work. Enjoy the day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Kansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love iy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Love this place. Go there every time I'm in Des Moines. Price is right and the exhibits are always changing, so there's always something new to see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old favorite in lovely building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We grew up visiting this museum so it was great to come back to see the expanded collection and beautiful building. The staff were also very helpful and accommodating.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Des Moines Art Center also viewed

 

Been to Des Moines Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Moines Art Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.