We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch and Interesting Arty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Des Moines Art Center

Des Moines Art Center
4700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50312-2099
515 277 4405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 42 attractions in Des Moines
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This internationally acclaimed museum houses impressive works by artists of the 19th and 20th centuries, including Edward Hopper, Georgia O'Keefe and Henri Matisse. The center, which also offers art classes, consists of three buildings, each designed by a celebrated architect: Eliel Saarinen, I.M. Pei and Richard Meier.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch and Interesting Arty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I enjoy visiting the cafe in the Art Center first, and then walking through the galleries. The menu changes weekly, which is part of the fun, the food is very good and the service is excellent. The Art Center has some interesting pieces, not all of which I like, but a pretty good diversity for a small city art center. And some pieces that I love to see each time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianola
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First class facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Des Moines Art Center is a real surprise. Artworks from the greatest artists - some old and some new...and from all over the world. The layout is first class. Very educational and very enjoyable. They have a small restaurant and outdoor seating in the summer. Beautiful grounds outside as well, which include a great display of cairns.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've visited the Louvre, the Chicago Art Institute, the Guggenheim in NYC and Venice, among others. The Des Moines Art Institute in character most reminds me of the Guggenheim in NYC. Their collection is definitely impressive considering the size of Des Moines.

On our recent visit we enjoyed a touring exhibit of a few of the short films of Thomas Demand. We'd also seen some of his work at the Walker in Minneapolis.

The building itself is beautiful art deco. I haven't eaten in the restaurant, but the gift shop has great items. There is generally no fee for admittance, so visit and enjoy and then make a donation. We're very lucky to have this place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not very accessible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The art center is a a great asset in Des Moines, the architecture of the various buildings and additions was quiet interesting but no where in the museum was there any information about it. Museum is not easily accessible you have to have staff unlock multiple doors to use a ramp on a side building to get into the museum, we stood outside for 20 minutes on a metal ramp waiting for the doors to be opened.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“The building is also art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This building is incredible, a work in itself. There is an excellent collection of contemporary art here, not what one might expect in Des Moines. Good emphasis on sculpture which we always seek out. Don't miss the sculpture park downtown as well!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Des Moines Art Center also viewed

 

Been to Des Moines Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Moines Art Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Des Moines Art Center to your Saves list