We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reasonable place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 - Des Moines North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 - Des Moines North to your Saves list
Motel 6 - Des Moines North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4940 Northeast 14th Street, Des Moines, IA 50316   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Decatur, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great reasonable place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We had a wonderful stay during the Iowa State Fair at the Motel 6. Nice clean rooms with a wide selection of cable channels. 32" LCD TV was great for my kids to play their playstation games. Pool was very enjoyable

Room Tip: Request rooms on back side if you are sensitive to highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    15
    9
    11
See reviews for
11
12
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I was passing through on a business trip, and looked for a hotel on a budget. I stayed at this motel 6, and was very satisfied. The room was very clean, the staff was helpful, the room was quiet and parking was abundant. I would absolutely stay again, if I ever came back to Iowa.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I were passing through Des Moines on a 3-week road trip to the west and stayed at the Des Moines North Motel 6. I was pleasantly surprised. This was the first Motel 6 I've ever stayed at, and since the reviews were positive, I wasn't a bit nervous about staying here. The motel has been remodeled, and we could smell fresh paint when walking in the room, and we liked the modern decor. One thing I would change is the regulation of the air conditioning. While it was a warm evening, I could not properly regulate the temp in our room, and I was cold most of the night. An extra blanket would have been nice, but there was not an extra one in the room. In addition, I found out in the morning that hairdryers ARE available upon request. That would have been nice to know. Also, no shampoo or conditioner available nor facial tissues. I guess that's what I get for using a budget motel. Overall though, we were very pleased with this motel and would definitely stay here again on a similar trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Who Are We REALLY Funding????.. When you get your receipt after paying, READ YOUR RECEIPT!!!!!!!!!! I paid for two days in CASH, instead of me checking my receipt right away, which I have never had any problems like this in ANY hotel I have ever stayed at!!! On my receipt it was showing that I owed for one day, the same day I checked in. What kind of crap is that???!. By the time I noticed it, I was getting ready to pay for an additional day, which would of been my 3rd day staying there. When the female clerk bought it to my attention. I was suprised to see a balance as well. I shouldn't have any balance, I told her. I pay day by day, because I didn't know how long I was going to be in Des Moines, IA. If I had I not been jet lag, from driving 1,600 miles over the Memorial Day holiday, I would of caught that, or at least brought it to the owner/manager that checked me in the first day I showed to this getto motel. She brought it to my attention when I went to pay for another day, that their was a balance, it came to my thought both of them are trying to play me for a fool. They both know I came in & paid in full with cash. They say that I am not on their cameras they bought from Sam's Club. I asked her why did my key card work the past day or so. Is it because I did in fact "PAY".. I do see WHAT I SEE,
I will be dammed if I will be taken advantage of. Hell, if you want to stay here because it's cheap, sure, but this soooo called owner will try to dick you around if he seas the opportunity, especially if you are by yourself, & your vehicle has US MILITARY written all over it. I can see why he took it to heart. Well what the HELL is he doing here if that is how he feels then. The hotel is not all that up graded. It's in a crappy area. There are DENTS on the doors where someone or bodies have kicked them in, I notice AFTER I checked in. It is not a nice hotel period. I just stayed here to be closer to family instead of staying clear out in West Des Moines, which is where I checked in after this Horrible Experiance, & NOT AT A MOTEL 6 Either.. Oh YA, if they ask you do you want a RECEIPT? Read between the lines! I didn't think anything of it at first, & I did say I wanted a receipt, just by nature that what your suppose get after handing over especially CASH, but then I have never been asked that checking into a hotel before. Now maybe that does go on at other hotels. Last time I checked in the USA, you are intitled to a RECEIPT of Purchase. You should get a receipt when you buy a pack of gum!!!!

Room Tip: Go Somewhere Else..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

There are several chain motels in the area and this is the best. Large refurbished rooms, free wifi and pleasant staff. Montana Mikes restaurant nearby is a useful bonus

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Ne.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

If your looking for a place to sleep, not get a spa package, a restaurant, business center, weight room yadda, yadda, yadda then this is the place to stay. Room is B-A-S-I-C but comfortable and clean. We use this hotel for a drive from Nebraska to the Univ. of Minnesota to see our daughter. We use this place for one thing: to sleep! For $41, it's right off the Interstate. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to request a room away from I-35. Not that the noise level is bad, but you can hear the traffic somewhat. The rooms have been recently renovated so things are in pretty good shape for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

At $39, it is the same price as the Rodeway Inn next door, and the Rodeway has 'free breakfast.'
No complaints on the motel in general, clean, quiet, typical Motel 6. But the heat was not on in the room and an hour later it was still cold (no I didn't complain). I just put on an extra layer of clothes and then put my jacket over the blankets, and it stayed there all night.
Very little truck parking but that was not an issue this trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 - Des Moines North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 - Des Moines North

Address: 4940 Northeast 14th Street, Des Moines, IA 50316
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 - Des Moines North 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 - Des Moines North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 - Des Moines North Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Motel 6
Des Moines Motel Six
Motel Six Des Moines
Motel 6 - Des Moines North Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 - Des Moines North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.