We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK to stay one night...I guess” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4817 Fleur Drive, (at McKinley Avenue), Des Moines, IA 50321   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OK to stay one night...I guess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Checked and the staff was friendly. Had a reservation for 1 Double Room NO SMOKING (very important) and paid for in advance. They did not have our room and they were fully booked. All they had was 2 rooms with one double each and they were SMOKING!! The rooms were not too bad for $69 (for both). One other problem was that there was one towel in each room...yes, I said one.

Like I said, for the money...a place to sleep for the night and their good attempt at making a wrong a right...it's not to bad. I would suggest that you call before you arrive to verify your reservation if you have one.

Room Tip: Call to verify your reservation!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Chris S - Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the room availability issue you encountered with your reservation. We take your feedback very seriously and will take it into consideration as we work to improve our guests' experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    5
    10
    15
See reviews for
9
8
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneota, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The sign in the lobby says the lights are still on for over 50 years... the problem is, nothing else has changed in 50 years. We got a room for 3 adults. The beds are pushed up against the wall so you have to climb over to get in. There were 2 bath towels for 2 people. A partial list of what you won't find here: coffee pot, hair dryer, iron, Kleenex, enough towels, enough plug ins, shampoo, conditioner etc. HEAT and HOT WATER. They told us at check in that there was no heat, it was late, our options were limited... The next morning, there was also no hot water. They said let it run... I did, for 20 minutes (what a waste), still nothing. Turns out their boiler was off or something. The eventually got it working but I had to wait 2 hours for a shower.

The bathroom door doesn't lock, the beds were very uncomfortable, the TV is a tiny 19" with very limited channels.

I know it's a discount chain, but HEAT, Hot Water, towels and Kleenex don't seem like that much to expect.

Keep on looking. There is a Days Inn and Hampton Inn very close, I don't know what they charge, but spend the extra money.

On the plus side, the staff was friendly and the room was decently clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff here are friendly and you can tell that they care about the motel. The rooms are clean. Close to restaurants and a grocery store. They have great rates. I stay in a lot of motels for my job and this motel 6 exceeded what my expectations were based on the rates. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Room was fine...it was clean and large enough for two adults and the dog. Bathroom was clean and everything was in working order. Lots of commotion outside during the night but there probably isn't much that can be done about that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This motel is definitely outdated.......but if you only need a place to crash before catching an early flight (or you arrive late and need some sleep before an early departure), then why pay over $80 for a bed? Good location near the airport and a good restaurant across the street. A tip to travelers: the thermostat has no markings and is simply a flat knob with one line on it. You must turn the knob clockwise until you hear the fan start...I didn't and I froze!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

First of all, this is a Motel 6. There are various Motel 6 locations all over the area. Some are better than others.

This one is right next to an airport. If you want a good sleep, you're not going to get it here. There's a lot of loud planes going in and out of the airport across the street.

If the weather is hot, this motel DOES NOT have Air Conditioning in any of the rooms.

TV channels are limited.

Beds are worn, creaky, and there are some stains on the mattress. Unlike most Motels, you also have to pay for wifi, which is ridiculous, however this is common among Motel 6 locations, so this shouldn't be surprising.

If you desperately need a place to stop and are low on cash, this will do the job. Otherwise try somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

First of all I dont knwo what rooms they took those pics of ... but I can assure you the actual rooms don't look like that at all!!! I wouldn't say anyone was unfriendly... but the rooms are horrible! You get what you pay for? I dont know was cheaper ...but do your self a favor spend teh extra $20... bathroom was disgusting... put towels on the shower floor ... burns in the bed linens..........I could go on ..... Really tho the pics bother me most .... absolutely false and misleading

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport

Address: 4817 Fleur Drive, (at McKinley Avenue), Des Moines, IA 50321
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Motel 6
Des Moines Motel Six
Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport Iowa
Motel Six Des Moines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 - Des Moines South - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.