We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com AmericInn.com
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
1920 Hackley Avenue, I-35 (Exit 68) Highway 5, Des Moines, IA 50315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 45 hotels in Des Moines
Greene, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was one of the nicest AmericInns I've stayed at. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was pleasant. Breakfast was an extended continental. Location was a bit far out since we weren't using the airport. But it was state fair time and we were trying to stay within a certain price range. Plus I had one of the Rewards vouchers to apply to the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for all the very kind words about the hotel. We all happy that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast that we offer to the guest. We have a nice easy rewards program for our guest. Glad that you got to enjoy the Iowa State Fair hope to see you on your next trip to the Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
6
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eldridge, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We called & made a reservation thinking we were calling a Super 8 Motel! The price was kind of high,but the room we had was very nice.The bed was VERY comfy. The breakfast the next morning was very good. A good selection for breakfast both mornings we were there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I checked in, thankful we could still get a romm somewhere, as everything was booked. We were first put in a handicapped room, that smelled so badly like mildew. I took a shower, no water pressure and it smelled like sewer water. Stinky room all together. We went swimming in their pool, and there was sand on the bottom, assuming because of the construction. The water was lukewarm and the windows were open because of how hot the roon was.
Wre switched rooms, it didn't stink, and it was clean. But the lights flickered and out of nowhere the tv and lights went out.
Both myself and my finance work in customer service, so we are both patient, and critical. The wench at the desk was rude, didn't believe us, and came to our room to look. She said that shr can't void the room and that I would still be charged.
We left and got home at one in the morning. What a great vacation. Bad service, is what I'm most disappointed in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and giving us feedback about your stay. I would like to apologize for any problems that you had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night and it was exactly what we needed and expected. Smaller queen room but clean, no odd smells and air conditioner worked well. Friendly staff at check in/out. Have no complaints.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review about the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This AmericInn was rebranded from a former Super 8. The upgrades are excellent, and Rachel and her staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We spent 10 consecutive nights here while visiting family in Des Moines. The hotel staff treated us like family, the room was comfortable, beds very very nice, and the place was spotlessly clean. The hot breakfast every morning was excellent. We were not bothered with noise, even on nights when they had a full house. This hotel offers excellent value for the price, with the added advantage of having a very nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Jackie thanks for all the kind words about the staff and the hotel. We enjoy seeing you guys each year. On the behalf of our entire team we looking forward to seeing you guys next year and thanks again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I'm a sound sleeper and could not sleep through noise. Room 203 was under a remodel, food was luke warm.

When I told the front desk server V. She acted unconcerned about our inconvenience. Its not like we were asking for a refund, but somethimg should of been offered. If you know you have noise issues don't place guests in that area.

Don't bother staying here. Overpriced for what was offered.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I want to apologize for the inconvenience that you experenced here at the hotel. We strive to make sure that everyone has a good stay. I hope that we will be able to have the chance to meet your expectations again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

4 night trip with my wife and 9 year old. We chose the hotel based on reviews here. I guess we should have heeded them a little better.

The Good: The room was large. Fridge. Microwave. Nice TV. Centrally located in Des Moines. Breakfast was decent.

The Bad: Being right next to the airport, we heard and felt planes taking off, starting as early as 6am. Room was "Quick Cleaned" - meaning when we moved the footstool or chair, the carpet was dirty undeneath. No elevator was a minor inconvienence. The pool area was small. They had just filled in the hot tub. Worse, the pool area was unbelievably humid inside. I sat down there so my son could swim and was literally sweating within a minute. The pool area was also not clean. My son found gum in the pool. Finally, the internet was inconsistent. The trick was to not connect to the Americinn Wi-fi, but to the Ecolodge wifi (this was the answer from the front desk).

The Ugly: The fridge made a terrible buzzing noise. We unplugged it to sleep and let the front desk know in the morning. The maintenance man asked if we were going back to our room yet that morning. Since we were heading out after breakfast, he went up to look a the fridge. He was outside having a cigarette before we even left. When we returned, the fridge was not working at all. We called the front and found out that his solution was to turn down the fridge so it wasn't running. Granted, it was quiet, but not working. We filled the fridge with ice as a temporary solution (we had food in there and didnt want it to spoil). The manager was supposed to talk to us the next day, but we never saw her. (We never saw here the 4 nights we were there.) Someone eventually must have fixed the fridge and there was a random discount on the room rate.

Ugly #2: A youth baseball team was staying at the hotel also. The team had a party in the parking lot, right under our window. The noise went on until 2:30am. Lots of noise from the halls every night. (No noise from other rooms though)

Ugly #3: Because at 2:30am we finally complained, when we checked out the next day, they did apologize and offered us a $25 credit. After we left, I examined the bill and the total was more than it should have been. I headed back inside, and ran into the front desk people leaving for the day. Rather than offer to take care of the problem, the response was "Print it up and call the manager." When I finally lost my temper, they did go back inside and correct it. I wasn't so angry that they accidently charged us an extra $25 rather than issue a $25 credit, but that they were content to leave me there angry.

Ugly #4: We never did see the manager the entire trip. We did, however, see the employees sitting outside often.

If you read my other reviews, you'll see that we enjoy most hotels we visit. I'm sure the manager will reply and try to put a positive spin on this one too. My answer to fellow travellers is: Don't risk your vacation on this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take the room by the ice machine! You'll hear it all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We are truely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, I want to truely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. Contructive feedback from our guests is helpful for us to provide great customer service.
Once again I am truly sorry about your stay. I hope that we will get the chance to meet your expecations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Also Known As:
Super 8 Des Moines
Super Eight Des Moines
Des Moines Super Eight
Des Moines Super 8
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport Iowa
Address: 1920 Hackley Avenue, I-35 (Exit 68) Highway 5, Des Moines, IA 50315
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Des Moines
#7 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our hotel's vibrant modern decor and warm service oriented hospitality will suit all of your needs. Our 100% non-smoking hotel offers you a variety of room choices. Select one of our family or whirlpool suites for added perks. Start your mornings off right by enjoying our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy our inviting, indoor pool.We are conveniently located directly across from Des Moines International airport and are just minutes from downtown. Our location allows for easy access to many area businesses and attractions, including Wells Fargo Arena and the Iowa Events Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Not matter where you come from or what brings you to Des Moines, we invite you come explore the fresh new look and feel throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport to your Saves list