We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average for a Super 8” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11414 Forest Ave, Des Moines, IA 50325 (Formerly Heartland Inn Des Moines)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
cedar rapids,ia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Above Average for a Super 8”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is an above average roadside motel, a good deal for your money (I paid about $75 a night for the room). The rooms have been recently remodeled with new furnishings, fixtures and carpets, flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator. I had no issues with the cleanliness of the rooms or the comfort level of the bed. The only issue that I had with the room is the lack of soundproofing, I could hear my neighbor's TV and doors slamming up and down the hall. I also did notice a small amount of traffic noise coming from the interstate, but this was mostly masked by running the fan or air conditioner.
The public areas have been remodeled and refurnished as well. There is an exercise room for guests that use that amenity. There is also a whirlpool, but it is my understanding that it has been out of order for a while. The continental breakfast was typical motel fare (waffles, cereal, fruits, etc) and is served off of the lobby
The motel is in a good location off of I-80 and University Ave. There are a ton of chain restaurants and other shopping options nearby.
I would patronize this property again if in the Des Moines area again. This has to be one of the better bargains in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    76
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
104
37
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Byron, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In a good location,clean rooms,good breakfast.You are close to the interstate.Easy to travel
To any location in Des Moines.The staff was helpful and friendly.Great eating places within
Walking distance.I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Was on first floor,very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a very clean and well kept up Super 8. The breakfast was the typical continental fare, plus biscuits and gravy and make your own waffles. Walking distance to a couple of restaurants. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayette
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel for the price I paid and for only 1 night was perfect. It is in a good location and was good for all my appointments. However, trying to work at night and in the morning before I went to work I could not get access to wireless after the 1st time. I was not happy and didn't get anything done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good hotel... clean room... mini fridge... microwave... free wifi... full free breakfast... good tv with nice channel selection.... comfortable bed.... good eating places in walking distance.... they even opened the breakfast an hour early due to the construction crew staying there and needing to leave early... stay here every time I make this business trip to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines

Address: 11414 Forest Ave, Des Moines, IA 50325 (Formerly Heartland Inn Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Des Moines
#9 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms. Convenient location off the Interstate I 35 & I 80. Close to many attractions and businesses. Many restaurants within walking distance. Meeting facility available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Des Moines
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.