We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11414 Forest Ave, Des Moines, IA 50325 (Formerly Heartland Inn Des Moines)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    76
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
104
37
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Point, WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at this Super 8 when traveling through on a business trip. I was greeted by friendly staff and the check-in was fast and painless. The public areas are clean and well kept. My room was large, clean and nicely furnished. The furniture is modern, the large screen TV offered a good selection of channels and the wireless internet was flawless. They do offer a higher speed internet if needed at an additional cost. But, I found the free service to be quite adequate for my needs. I will certainly stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If all Super 8 hotels were like this one, I would stay more often. I was traveling with a family of four plus a pet. I needed two rooms and a special room that accepted our dog -- all at a reasonable price. This hotel met our expectations and was significantly better than the outdated and average Super 8 we stayed in at another location on our trip. This hotel is much newer and modern. Their rooms and bathrooms were very clean, beds were Queens not doubles and were firm and comfortable plus they had newer flat screen TVs. Also, the room designated as a pet room did not smell like a kennel! Overall, this hotel was a great value and we would stay there again. I just wish the Super 8 brand overall was like this hotel. Unfortunately, they aren't at this time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I travel a lot and have stayed at several Super 8 and this was by far the most comfortable, clean, and modern one I have stayed at. I am traveling as a solo female so safety is a key concern for me. This Super 8 is tucked away in a nice cul-de-sac not too far away from the interstate and is surrounded by many affordable restaurants. I walked to the convenience store for a late night snack and felt perfectly safe. The bed was very comfortable and this was the first time I have slept in a motel for the entire night without waking throughout the night. I usually toss and turn and throw pillows off the bed trying to get comfortable.The room has been updated and is decorated very nicely and contained a fridge,microwave, coffee maker, flat screen, blowdryer, iron , ironing board etc. Breakfast was substantial and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend requesting a room upstairs otherwise you can hear a lot of walking and creaking if someone is in the room above. Just be prepared, as noted by others, there is no elevator. Overall I would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great Super 8 location. It's on a side road next to a freeway but felt like a cul-de-sac in a nice, safe neighborhood. There are also a lot of restaurants within a walking distance the closest being next to the hotel parking lot. There are other hotels in the area including a Sheraton across the street but this place has the best location. The hotel is just off University Ave that runs parallel to I-235 leading to Des Moines. All in all, I wish there's a hotel like this at every stop on a trip.

Room Tip: One side of the wing off the lobby building is facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines

Address: 11414 Forest Ave, Des Moines, IA 50325 (Formerly Heartland Inn Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Des Moines
#9 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms. Convenient location off the Interstate I 35 & I 80. Close to many attractions and businesses. Many restaurants within walking distance. Meeting facility available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Des Moines
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.