We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucas Oil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines to your Saves list
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11414 Forest Ave, Des Moines, IA 50325 (Formerly Heartland Inn Des Moines)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    98
    63
    18
    8
See reviews for
129
48
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I knew from other TA reviews that some complained about the beds but thought the price warranted a try.... well, ever try sleeping on a 'V' shaped piece of jello? That's what it felt like! The bed wiggled and jiggled every single time anyone in the bed moved and it sagged in the middle so i kept sliding inward! They need new beds here. Our 2 bed rooms felt small but was fine for just one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for a night just as a getaway, we got a good rate through Priceline. We were not in the room more than 8 or 9 hours but it was good for what we needed, just a quick getaway. It is in a pretty good location, too, not too far from the Jordan Creek area which is where we spent most of our time. I would probably go somewhere else next time if I could get a similar rate but overall it was fine.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After 11 hours of driving, we just wanted an inexpensive, clean place to stay. Booking over the phone was a surreal experience, since the person asked my to spell Des Moines three times. Seriously, you have never heard of this major city? Anyway, upon our arrival, no one was at the check-in desk (he was showing a room to someone who stopped). Got our room and surprise. Shorts and underwear from the previous occupant was still in the room. We were too tired to complain. The same gentleman was still there at our checkout. He was pleasant both times. But would I recommend this location? No.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

when i first checked in the front desk person was short, rude and disconcerned with my check in. once i had checked in, i went to my room where i found a yellow stain on the bed skirt and sheets, either urine or maybe apple juice. not sure which one it would be, hopefully juice. along with that i had a warm welcoming for a large spider in my room on my lamp shade. when i had approached the manager about it, his reply was " and what do i need to do about this " with a negative tone. so if you want bad service, a dirty room and a couple of creepy crawlers to sleep in your bed with you, this would be the perfect hotel to stay at !

Room Tip: go to a different location !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo913
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Room wasn't ready, but it didn't take long. It was neat & clean. Nice breakfast. Easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines

Address: 11414 Forest Ave, Des Moines, IA 50325 (Formerly Heartland Inn Des Moines)
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms. Convenient location off the Interstate I 35 & I 80. Close to many attractions and businesses. Many restaurants within walking distance. Meeting facility available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Des Moines
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.