We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6221 S.W. Army Post Road, Des Moines, IA 50321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Ideal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I've never heard of this place, but once I found it and realized how close it was to everything and how great the ammenities were I was very happy. The price was great! They provided continental breakfast plus. It was in the breakfast room that provided assortments of cereals including oatmeal, sausage, biscuits and gravy. Being able to make my own beligian waffle was a plus. They also provided juices, milk, coffee and a few other items to select from. There were two televisions, the daily newpapers and your choice of having breakfast there or take back to your room. The room was clean and comfortable, with in-room coffee provided and also located in the lobby which is important for us coffee drinkers. They have a laundry room, recreation room, indoor pool and weight room. This is the perfect place to stay if you fly into Des Moines and want to stay in a quiet location, close to the airport and close to other businesses.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charm1272009, Director of Sales at Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
On behalf of management and staff, we appreciate the opportunity you gave us to welcome you and your guests as our guests. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Deluxe Complimentary Breakfast. We hope you will continue to come and stay with us in the future when you are in the Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    84
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
121
40
22
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed at the Baymont for a convention. The staff was very helpful throughout the weekend. Meeting rooms were very nice. Food was good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charm1272009, Director of Sales at Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We greatly appreciate hearing our guests thoughts and hope you that you will continue to stay with us when ever are in the Des Moines Area. We always strive to improve in our banquet overnight accommodations. If there is anything you would feel that would help us to improve, please do not hesitate to let us know. Again, thank so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Peters, Mo
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We have a family reunion in the Des Moines area each Memorial Day Weekend with about 50 people attending. We had always stayed at a motel by the Livivg History Farm but this year stayed at the Baymont. We were extremely happy with our overall stay to the point where we are returning next year. Everyone involved in the operation of the motel was very friendly and helpful. James did an outstanding job with our catered breakfast and seeing to it that our stay was enjoyable. These folks do a great job!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charm1272009, Director of Sales at Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
I am thrilled that you and your family members were "extremely happy" with your overall stay with us last July. The managers and staff here at the Baymont Inn & Suites DSM Airport Conference Center really appreciate the wonderful comments and hope you will come and stay with us again, and again, and again each and every timeyou are in the Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central IL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

For the price (around $70 with coupon from travel coupon book) it's one of the nicest hotels in the area. Beautiful pool, hot tub, sauna area (plenty of clean towels), wonderful spread of hot breakfast, nice little outdoor courtyard areas, game room, gym and lovely front desk staff. Convenient to the airport just south of town off rt.28. The rooms are oversized and have a full bathroom plus an additional sink outside the bathroom for convenience. Indoor corridors. Beds are very comfortable. Perfectly clean throughout.

For such a nice place, you might be surprised at the caliber of some of the guests. There is a trucking company that puts up their students and they clog the doorways in the mornings smoking while you're trying to load your car--be prepared for rude comments and such from a few that are trying to out-pig each other. The only nitpicky negatives I can think of other than that are they could use more parking and they don't have fridges in the rooms, at least not in standard room.

Overall, it's totally worth the price and if you don't mind sharing the hotel with a bunch of young men (a handful of which are disrepectful, not blaming them all by any means).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikebrock, Manager at Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Thank you for your comments about our Hotel. You are right, we do have more amenities then you would ever expect. We also have huge rooms which are very clean. The Hotel was awarded "The Best of Baymont Award" in 2009. This award is based on inspections and reviews by guests which verifies your thoughts about the Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We have addressed the few concerns you had and are sure we have made changes necessary to insure that all of our guests have a great stay at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

As others have said, the pool area is really nice. I did notice a lot of young and middle-aged men around, smoking by the front and back doors, and tossing around some not-so-family-friendly language. It turns out the motel is frequented by employees of a large trucking company located next door. Just remember this if you have sensitive ears and/or little kids with you. Other than that, all was well: the beds were pretty comfortable, good shower pressure, and clean property other than the beer bottles and cigarette butts around the back door in the mornings. Also no actual airport shuttle as advertised, but the front desk will call a taxi and pay for the short drive to the airport. 15 minutes or less easy drive to Downtown Des Moines, and remember there are no restaurants, stores, or gas stations within the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

  • Liked — pool, cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — location, somewhat rough crowd (smoking, language)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

Our experience at this hotel was outstanding. We used a "free Night" through a rewards program and it was listed as a 1 star hotel so our expectations were low...but we left very impressed! We stayed in a non-smoking room, and there was no smell of smoke, the room was very large for a standard room. The staff was very helpful. The hotel has a nice sized indoor swimming pool and hot tub, a game room with pool tables big screen TV, video games. The hotel was also very quiet. It is located West of the Airport and kind of off by itself...but very much worth it! Signs indicated that the hotel was going "Smoke Free" in March 07.

  • Liked — No Smoking meant NO Smoke!! Very Clean and Large Rooms!
  • Disliked — Location, West of Airport is not easiest to navigate...but not a big deal.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

Upon arrival at the hotel, they were overbooked with nonsmoking rooms. They gave me a smoking two room suite, which had been deodorized, and unless you're incredibly picky, was absolutley no problem. The rooms are in very good shape, furnishings appear to be fairly new, and the indoor pool area is incredibly nice. The price was the best in the entire city for the wekeend that I was there, and I was very pleasantly surprised for what you get for the money here. I would highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center

Address: 6221 S.W. Army Post Road, Des Moines, IA 50321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#4 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#4 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself comfortable at our non-smoking Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport hotel. Our hotel is just minutes from Des Moines International Airport and across the street from Willow Creek Golf Course.Wake up to a delicious deluxe continental breakfast and free copy of USA Today. Work out at our fitness center equipped with 11 cardio and strength training machines, then unwind in our heated indoor pool or hot tubs. Pick up a souvenir or snack in our gift shop, or play a game and watch a show on a 55-inch flat-screen TV in our arcade. Handicapped-accessible rooms and RV / truck parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.