We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience tonight was excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alba

Alba
524 East 6th St., Des Moines, IA
(515) 244-0261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 479 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Des Moines
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Experience tonight was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Food and service tonight were excellent and half price wines on Wednesday was a very pleasant surprise. Comments about portions make me wonder if people are used to steakhouse and Machine Shed portions. My wife and I shared three appetizers and left stuffed and neither of us would be considered light eaters. We had trouble selecting from the very broad menu with interesting choices. We are both foodies and know wine. Their wine list has good breadth and prices offer something for everyone. Service was spot on as well. Our three selections arrived in sequence and very timely. At some other places when we order apps to split they all come out at once. It is a bit loud but not so bad one can't have a conversation. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    25
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“JUST NOT THAT SPECIAL.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

High priced, small quantities and the owner is rude. Good martinis and a different selection of food but over all not that special.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You must experience Alba!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had heard many friends tell me how wonderful Alba Restaurant is, but two nights ago, I finally found out for myself. It was amazing! The atmosphere was inviting, the wait staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. The food was top of the line, with a unique menu that still had some options for the not so adventuresome.
We asked for onion rings for an appetizer even though they were only listed with one of the entrees. They gladly accommodated our request and they were the best onion rings we had ever had, real onions, beer battered to perfection! My husband's Pork Loin Duo was amazing and my my Australian Barramundi, a mild white fish, was some of the best seafood I have had, and I have had tried seafood all over the world. The side of green beans was very flavorful and we even took the leftover beans home. Just too good to waste.
Don't miss this one. Now that we have been there, we will go back many times, and it will be a place we take friends whether they are from in town or guests from out of town.
You won't be disappointed with Alba.
One other little perk, if you sit on the east side by the window, you can see the dome of the Iowa State Capitol, one of the most impressive in the nation!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was amazed reading some of the negative reviews. This restaurant is by far one of our favorites. My husband and I usually eat here for lunch but our married daughter and husband dine often in the evening. Everything both couples have ever ordered has been delicious, plated well, and served by a prompt, helpful staff. I know the best place may have an off day but how more than one person could have experienced a less than perfect meal, I can hardly believe. You should check it out yourself. Everything is always fresh and the menu is always changing according to the best ingredients they can find throughout the year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food is good, but mgmt is a miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Have been there twice. food is good. But went for an advertised special. After we arrived and asked about the special, we learned pricing was different than was advertised. This has happened on two separate occassions.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alba also viewed

Des Moines, IA
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.