We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, very guest oriented!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   418 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great staff, very guest oriented!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

A terrific place to stay. Staff is tops, better than most hotels I've stayed at, including Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons.

Ask for Jamie at the front desk! She rocks!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    63
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
65
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our second time at the Hyatt Place in downtown Des Moines. The hotel is lovely and the staff is friendly. They offer a free shuttle to anywhere within a 5 mile radius. FYI: if you stay there on a weekend, you can park for free on the street very near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel! It had the feel of a metropolitan city. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean, and wonderful. The staff were all gracious and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I plan to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlace D, Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to comment on your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for staying with us and commenting on your stay.

Sincerely,

Thomas Helmke
Hyatt Place Des Moines/Downtown AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hotel was in a perfect location for wanting to be downtown Des Moines. I could walk everywhere I wanted to go. Hotel looks brand new and has everything I needed! Rooms were very nice, Beds comfortable and they have huge HD TV's!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our family stayed here for a week-end kids sports/travel trip. Had never stayed in a Hyatt Place before, but found a great deal on Hotwire. This hotel was very modern and up to date, and clean. Our room was very spacious, and included a large pull out sofa. We loved the 'loft' feel. There is a great complimentary hot buffet breakfast with a lot of choices(not your typical breakfast bar). We also used the dining room the night before for pizza carry-out, and the staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again for family or business trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed in the Hyatt Place on one of our trips between Kansas City and the Twin Cities. We landed and amazing price on Hotwire. The rooms are very modern but comfortable. Our five year old chose the large sofa and footstool as his bed for the night. The pool is small but nice and the breakfast is much better than the free ones offered at other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at the Hyatt on the weekend of Dec. 4th/5th. The customer service was very approachable and overall very helpful. Wanda (worked at the front desk) got us a shuttle in no time and even recommended places we should see while we were in town for the evening. She greeting us with smiling faces that morning and showed us around the breakfast bar. The rooms were amazing and you could actually do more in them then walk around your stuff. I will be staying her again and I recommend it for others. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Address: 418 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#4 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#4 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.