We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   418 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in Des Moines
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

A nice hotel this one, helped by its relatively small size. Very enthusiastic and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    46
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
48
14
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

I spent several weeks there working long days. The rooms are nice and the staff is awesome, especially Ashley. She was extremely accommodating and always put a smile on my face! Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was my second visit to this property and again when I asked for a aiport shuttle (and reconfirmed 3 times, including with the driver), the shuttle disapperared at the requested time. Worse, 5 or so managers standing around in the lobby-with no one in charge of the problem.
The windows in my room were dirty-smudged with hand prints.The closet needed vacuming.

This is one of the few nice -- albeit over-priced -- properties in a city with few good downtown selections. Indeed, this is the only new property.

The gym next door charges only $10 for hotel guests (not that anyone at the Hyatt new that). Ditto-if you want coffee Java Joes in a few blocks away on 4th Street.

Also, I asked for Gold Passport credit (Hyatt's frequent stayer program), but the bill on check out state "no number enterred"--even though I gave the number when I made the reservation and again on check in.

So all in all I would recommend it--but allow plenty of time for the airport shuttle and expect inconsistent service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at the hotel this past weekend and Wanda was great at the front desk!!! She was super helpful and friendly. The hotel was one of the nicest I have stayed in, especially for the price we paid. The hotel was extremely clean and the rooms were amazing and HUGE!!! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for a business trip. Good location close to everything in the downtown area. However, there were some flaws.

There is virtually no parking and you must use valet at $15/day.

My room was very spacious, sharply decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable but it lacked cleanliness. There was some food smeared on one of the dresser drawers and the air vent (at eye level) was loaded with dust as if it had never been touched by the housekeeping staff.

Had some problems getting the thermostat to work in the room and the front desk staff were not helpful. Also, front desk staff did not seem knowledgeable about the area. I asked two different employees where I could locate the convention center and they didn't know--it was right across the street.

There is a small bar in the lobby where you can buy drinks and small food items. The prices were high and I had to wait quite a long time just to buy two bottles of water.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Everything was perfect right from the very helpful,friendly staff to the very nicely appointed rooms. We would absolutely stay there again and would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Des Moine.
Restaurants in the area were great and easy to walk to. A very safe and beautiful downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Great room..cool lay out..nice amenties..VGA/LAPTOP jacks for TV..high end glass shower..plenty of room for two people..(enjoyed the sectional and faux leather ottoman)..
great location to airportt and within walking distance to the capitol ..city hall and mearby bar lounges..great staff..(Wanda..one of the managersstands out)..was able to use my AARP membership to take advantage of a discount..very clean..all in all if I had to stay in DES MOINES again this will be my spot..Also free internet access..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Address: 418 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#6 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.