We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legit BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jethro's BBQ

Jethro's BBQ
3100 Forest Ave, Des Moines, IA 50311
515-279-3300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 472 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Moline, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Legit BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I can't wait to go back! I had the "Better Homes and Garden Sandwich" and it was so good. They have sauces on the table and my favorite was the Alabama White...if you like buttermilk you'll love this sauce! Fun atmosphere!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    103
    34
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Travel channel does not lie.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

There are so many of amazing options on the menu, from a huge sandwhich, to simd amazing burgers, epic fries, and some of the best mac-n-cheese in town. Of course you can try the challange, the sandwhich that brought this place to national fame,
. WARNING THE PIT HAM MEAL SUCKS! Thats the only thing I have to say not in its favor.

    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster City, Iowa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was my first visit here, and it was good. We had ribs, wings, onion rings, and the cream corn. The ribs smelled very smokey, but did not taste that way. The ribs and the wings just fell off the bone. The onion rings were good, and the heat from the corn was very good. The only bad thing was the smoke flavor after we were done eating hung around for a long time, but would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES MOINES
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good every time you go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of the best bar b q in the Des Moines area. I have tried several things on the menu and have never been disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Jethro's is by far our favorite BBQ in the area! They have 4 locations which each has its own specialty, yet they all have the same great platters and sandwiches to choose from. They have great drink specials as well. If you' 're looking for great BBC, look no further than the closest Jethro's.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jethro's BBQ also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Jethro's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jethro's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.