We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the guided tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Building

Capitol Building
1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319
515-281-5591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 94 things to do in Des Moines
Attraction details
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Take the guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

An attractive domed Capitol building that is even more attractive inside. We checked the times for tours in advance and glad we did. The tour guide adds a tremendous amount of insight about the history behind the construction, destruction and renovation of the building. For those with the energy, take the 130 stairs to the base of the rotunda. Great perspective.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    55
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great architecture and detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The building is one of the most beautiful, ornate and cared for treasures I've seen. The tour is definitely value added - in addition to the good stories, it gets you into restricted areas.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best view in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We took the tour, and I would say it was well worth it. The lady tour guide was clearly enthusiastic about the building and she answered all our questions with great patience and knowledge. The building is truly beautiful, well worth checking out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Number One for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful building and great tour. Our tour guide "Bill" was very informative and was able to keep the adults, teenagers and young kids engaged and excited during the tour. Learned not only about the facility but also about how Iowa government works. Library was really spectacular and the view after hiking up the stairs of the dome was great. Don't miss!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are in Des Moines, don't miss the Capitol. We just about had a private tour. Knowledgeable, kind tour guide. Don't miss the 92 steps up to the dome. Awesome view.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Building also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.