We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Denison

Travelodge Denison
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Denison to your Saves list
Travelodge Denison
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   502 Boyer Valley Road, Denison, IA 51442 (Formerly Super 8 Motel - Denison)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Denison
Carlisle, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed! There was an odor so terrible I had to purposefully burn three bags of popcorn and place them around the room to stand the stench. All of the other hotels in town were booked because of a golf tournament, otherwise I would have left in a heartbeat. There was even a very eerie sign on the mirror that said to use the blue towels provided to wipe off makeup, blood, grease, and pizza sauce because stain blaster does not get the stains out of the white towels --- GROSS! They insist that you comoflauge their blood stained towels by using the blue ones. GROSS, GROSS, GROSS place!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    14
    7
    12
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocksprings, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Super Motel for a wk back in November When my brother passed away. The service there was great and very considerate to us. I would recommend this motel to anyone. When i go back home again i'm planning on staying there again. I slept good and the breakfast there was AWESOME also. first motel that I've stayed at that has waffles for breakfast. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK Kelly and the staff there you guys are awesome.

Angie from Rocksprings, Wyoming

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

The motel is older and not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. No pool for those that care about it, but we hadn't planned on using one. We had a corner room, so the view was especially nice - during the night a storm came in and knocked out the power, so we left in the morning around 7 in total darkness, so I can't comment on the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

This is now the Super 8. Called hotel direct and reserved a non-smoking room with 2 queen beds with option for roll-away at AAA rate. The only non-smoking room left on a Holiday weekend was a non-smoking handi-capped room which they said meant no refrig. Not a problem for us; traveling with elderly Mother and Aunt so this meant 1st floor good for our situation.

Room was clean. 2 drawers, and an armoire that was revised for the handi-capped room (they had added a lower clothes bar, left the high bar with 3 of the 6 hangers locked on bar that is now useless)
Air conditioner was high on wall, not handi capped accessible. Also feel threhold could be a problem for wheelchairs. Theshold was not even with the floor.

Flat screen TV-cable, used only to check the weather. Room was surprisingly noise free considering it was a holiday weekend (full) and on the parking lot side. Black out curtain worked well, would have appreciated a sheer under curtain (1st flr on parking lot side).
Problem with being charged the wrong rate still unresolved-quoted a AAA rate but at check out I believe we were charged rack rate (new person at desk unable to fix and when she asked for help, we were told the higher rate was due to there being 3 people in the room. I do not feel this is correct, when I had researched pricing at their web site there was not an extra charge for 3 or 4 in a room with 2 beds.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Denison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Denison

Address: 502 Boyer Valley Road, Denison, IA 51442 (Formerly Super 8 Motel - Denison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Denison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Denison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Denison 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Denison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Denison
Super Eight Denison
Denison Super 8
Denison Super Eight
Travelodge Denison Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Denison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.