We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little shop.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agora

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Agora
104 East Water Street, Decorah, IA 52101
563-382-8786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 things to do in Decorah
Activities: Shopping
Attraction details
Decorah, Iowa
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A great little shop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is not "just another" gifty store with the usual array of "stuff" some owner loads up on at a wholesaler. Many original pieces, the "Story People" collection, fun items of all kinds. We bought an artist's rendering of a moose head that we had coveted for several years before we "bit the bullet" and bought it. Its now one of our favorite conversation pieces out on our porch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decorah, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A family favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I live in Decorah, and this is one of my favorite spots for unique gifts. It's also a favorite for family and friends who come to visit; no visit is complete until they've gone to Agora!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossian, Iowa, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Entirely Unique, A Little Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Loved the unique selection of locally crafted art and gifts! Ranging from sculptures to jewelry beads. The items are a bit pricey, but some things get your attention with their rarity and you can't pass them up. And Hey! who doesn't want to support local art?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, IL
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Artsy gem in downtown Decorah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Agora features works in all media by a variety of artists. It is fun to just go and look at the unique items they display, which they do beautifully. The store is technically in the Winnishiek Hotel, a lovely historic hotel, but you enter the store from Water Street, not the hotel lobby. The staff is really nice as well. When I admired a painting on the wall which was out of my price range, the attendant showed me two alternative presentations of the same work. One was a reasonably priced poster, and one was a note card, which she suggested putting in a floating glass frame since it was not a standard size for matting. Given the quality of merchandize, it would be easy for the staff to be pretentious, but like the rest of this town, they are warm and welcoming. This store is truly a gem. Anyone with an interest in the arts would enjoy a visit here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deocrah, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“beautiful arts and crafts at every price point--something for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

one of the best stores ANYWHERE. Agora features gorgeous jewelry, beautiful (and functional) pottery, original sculptures, clever prints and paintings, and much more. From inexpensive gifts (the $9 wooden bud vases are a personal favorite) to hand-made, one-of-a-kind furniture, you will fall in love with this incredible store. Gail has fabulous taste, and you can be sure that everything she chooses to put in her store is a work of art.

p.s. Don't be confused by the word "craft": this is NOT a store full of country CRAP. If you're looking for junky candles and plastic flowers, GO ELSEWHERE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agora also viewed

 

Been to Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.