We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best U. S. B and B experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dug Road Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Decorah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dug Road Inn
Save
You added Dug Road Inn to your Saves list
601 West Main Decorah, Decorah, IA 52101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Decorah B&B and Inns
south dakota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Our best U. S. B and B experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay at the Dug Road Inn. We stumbled onto by chance and it was the best lodging choice we have made in some time. The rooms are large and comfortable, with nice amenities such as robes and separate water flasks. There was never a feeling of being cramped into the space and we enjoyed the king size bed, which was very comfortable. We took a room on the first floor, but were able to use the refrigerator and kitchen on the second floor for some food that we bought locally. The staff is incredibly helpful and kind. The breakfasts were inventive and wonderful (the lemon pancakes were fabulous). They gave good suggestions on places to eat and visit. The Inn is conveniently located to the downtown area and for the cyclists or runners/walkers, the Trout River Trail is very close as well. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the lower level, there was little noise from above. If you prefer not to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We loved reading your review of our inn. Thank you for sharing with us and the readers of Trip Adviser as many of our guests refer to these reviews. We look forward to welcoming you again and if you would like those lemon pancakes, just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Kansas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a charming place we found in quaint village in Iowa. This was our first ever stay at a bed & breakfast and we are not sure if we can ever find another like this.
From Doug and the staff to the healthy scrumptious breakfast you can't go wrong booking a stay here.
The rooms are attractive plus a kitchen area upstairs with fridge, range, microwave, table with 4 chairs for your use. Plus a pot of coffee sitting on the table each morning.
We are early risers so being only 2 blocks from Trout Run trail we did an early morning 4 mile run before your delicious breakfast.
The fellow guests we had breakfast with were enjoyable and friendly and we could have sat there all morning visiting.
Also only 2 blocks from beautiful downtown.
Be sure and book early to assure a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that your first stay in a B&B was a happy one. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just returned from 3 days in lovely Decorah. Iowa. Our stay @ Dug Road Inn really enhanced the whole trip. Very comfortable and well appointed ensuite rooms. Breakfasts were locally sourced, plated for you and just the right portions. Plus we enjoyed the company of our fellow residents so much, we didn't want to leave the table! A nice common room on 2nd floor has table/chairs, fridge and kitchenware so you can store a leftover or two, read the paper, whatever. Staff is friendly and just correct for this classy place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We hope you will visit again!

Regarding our location, we are one block from Water Street (Decorah's main shopping & restaurant street), 1-1/2 blocks from the trail, 3-1/2 blocks from the park & a block from the Vesterheim Museum. I just wanted to point this out for future readers.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are happy you enjoyed it. Thank you for writing this very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The Dug Road Inn is a great place to stay in this beautiful town. Great food, comfortable rooms and Doug, the innkeeper, is attentive and a good source of information about the city and the state. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much. We are very proud of Decorah and love to share it with our visitors. Come back again....we would love to have you back at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Some friends and I recently stayed at the Dug Road Inn. It's a charming, well-decorated house close to the center of Decorah. We were able to walk to restaurants and a hiking trail. There's a large patio where we enjoyed a three-course breakfast each morning. The food was fresh and locally sourced and absolutely delicious. Everyone we came into contact with at the Inn was pleasant. We had access to a kitchen and our room had a decanter of water and a small vase of fresh flowers. The sheets and pillows were high-quality and comfortable and the bath products were fantastic and sustainable. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We loved having you! Thank you for the wonderful review and please come again...bring your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My spouse and I stayed here for two days, and we had the most delightful experience. The hosts were friendly and quite helpful, the house immaculate and beautifully designed, and the food was simply amazing. I want to go back tomorrow! While Decorah has many unexpected charms, this place sealed the deal as the best getaway ever. I loved it as did my spouse, who was a bit hesitant of the B&B idea before this experience. Thank you Doug, Sondra and Katie--you have set the bar really really high!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and do c0me back in the summer to enjoy time on the porch.
Thanks again,
Doug and Shirleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our weekend at the Dug Road Inn was wonderful--beautiful room (Duncan) and bathroom, plenty of calm and quiet even though the inn was full, incredibly tasty breakfasts (very flavorful but not heavy or sweet) and kind hosts who were helpful but not intrusive. We had a lovely time!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dug Road Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dug Road Inn

Address: 601 West Main Decorah, Decorah, IA 52101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Decorah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dug Road Inn Decorah, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dug Road Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.