We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby's a Must for Scandinavian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's

Ruby's
120 E. Water ST., Decorah, IA
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 35 Restaurants in Decorah
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ruby's a Must for Scandinavian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were there for Settende Mai (Norwegian Independence Day) and they had several fine Norwegian dishes (we had salmon patties w/beet relish and Norwegian Meatballs). Even though they were busy, the service was great and don't miss the lefse and rosettes for dessert!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is your quintessential iowa small town cafe. The service was great. The food was good but not phenomenal. Their "famous" cinnamon roll was average. They microwaved it a bit too long so the cinnamon flavor was muted (and wish it didn't have to be microwaved). I'm guessing their midweek, off peak tourist season traffic precludes them from making them fresh daily. My corned beef hash, two poached eggs, toast, coffee and roll came to almost $12.50 before the tip so the pricing is pushing the upward end considering the quality and quantity of what I received.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Comfort food with delightful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in to Ruby's for a quick lunch while waiting for my husband. What a treat! I had a steaming hot bowl of hamburger vegetable soup and a side of homemade lefse. I thoroughly enjoyed my lunch, the service and my carry out treat of a Ronny's famous cinnamon roll and more lefse!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Roll Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

When in Decorah, it is a tradition of many families to get a cinnamon roll from Ruby's. These cinnamon rolls are huge and sure to satisfy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Exceptional service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you're new to Decorah, and stop at Ruby's, Jo will welcome you with the same comfortable charm and concern that she uses for the locals, who she also takes extremely good care of. Food was excellent, service was better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.