We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very ordinary breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albert's Restaurant - CLOSED

Albert's Restaurant
104 East Water Street, 104 East Water Street, Decorah, IA 52101
+1 563-382-4164
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington Ave.
Transit: Hometown Taxi services Decorah. 563-382-3155.
Description: Located inside the beautifully restored Hotel Winneshiek, the jewel box of Decorah! The floor-to-ceiling view of downtown Decorah's Water Street is the perfect place to enjoy a meal. Featuring scratch cooking by Executive Chef Tom Skold. Committed to fresh local ingredients. Preview menus at www.hotelwinn/alberts-restaurant.com Dinner: Appetizers * Soups * Entree Salads * Fish/Seafood * Vegetarian & Gluten Free options * Pasta * Poultry * Chophouse * Desserts * Wide selection of local, imported or domestic beers, wines and full bar. Weekday Breakfast Fresh Bakery * Blue Plate special *Daily specials * Ala carte Expanded Weekend Breakfast French-Style Omelets * Smoked Turkey Hash * Seasonal Fritatta * Soup * Salads * Blue Plate Special * Daily Specials
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A very ordinary breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The fresh squeezed OJ and the caramel roll were excellent. Everything else was pretty ordinary. My bacon, spinach and leek frittata was over cooked and presented with a few diced potatoes. The orance slice on the side of the plate did little to enhance the presentation. Our waiter was a bit overwhelmed in a not-that-busy restaurant. We waited too long for coffee and had to ask another staff member for a refill. Next time in Decorah I'll go elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Wasn't planning on it, but very inviting and convenient. Chef prepared , high quality breakfast. Very nice wait staff!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Average in every sense”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate here our first night in Decorah. The Ceasar salad was tasteless as was the walleye. We passed on dessert. There must be better choices in a town as charming as Decorah and we hope to make them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“July 4th Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed two nights in Decorah and would have stayed an extra night if our room had not been booked for a wedding on our last day. On July 4 we finished a very pleasant day of sightseeing and riding rented bikes on the brand new Trout Run Trail by treating ourselves to dinner at Albert's.

The decor, food and service was very good and we would eat there again the next time we visit Decorah.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Below par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We have wanted to try Albert's for sometime now since hearing that the chef came from a restaurant in Pepin Wisconsin.
The steak was tough and the veggies where cold. The salad was made from bagged greens and they forgot to remove the rotten lettuce. The appetizer we had lacked
seasoning as did the main course. The only item which was seasoned was the garlic butter which had so much garlic it ruined the potato.
We told the wait staff about our meal, and they didn't seem to care

I remember the many times
we gladly waited in line
to eat in Pepin. Its clear now why there was no line at Albert's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.