We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good standard chain hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA to your Saves list
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA
1202 Highway 9 West, Decorah, IA 52101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good standard chain hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The pool, breakfast and large rooms are all a plus. The blowers for the heat are fairly quiet. Best of all, the hotel is located on a lovely bike/walking trail that goes into town by foot in about 30 minutes, making this a great choice for walkers/runners/ bikers. The steakhouse accross the street is good, too. One of the better hotels of its type we've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
10
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Worst internet speed I have found in a hotel in a very long time. Best speen 1.22Mbps downloand and .22 Mbps upload. Took 15 minutes to send a small Excel file. Netflix took forever to start and then timed out. Big TV but poor picture quality. Service is non-existent - just give you the key and offered no other information about anything in the hotel. When I asked about the slow speed, I was advised that there is faster internet avaialable for a fee. Do not advertise free internet and then provide such poor service that the only real choise is to pay for it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndecorah, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Todd, we are so sorry that you did not have a good experience with our internet. We have purchased the highest bandwidth available from our local provider in an effort to provide our guests with the fastest speed. I did review our static reports for that evening and due to the fact that the hotel was fully occupied, you may have experienced the slow down as a result off high usage.
We strive every day to provide our guests with great customer service and I will review our express check in training so that our guest feel recognized and appreciated during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

2 nights in mid August. Indoor pool and hot tub were a highlight of the facility as well as the many offerings at their morning breakfasts. I couldn’t stay away from the free coffee and chocolate chip cookies at the front desk. They are starting to undergo a remodel in late 2013 which will take out the local ornamentation that makes Decorah special, but then corporate just doesn’t get small towns. They want everything to look similar when they design it at headquarters. Hopefully the upgrade will spiff up the place. Our bathroom was a bit tired and not up to the standards that I have experienced as other Country Inns. It wouldn’t keep me from staying there, nor would the noise in the hall or in the pipes. Take a couple of cheap ear plugs and enjoy the really nice an comfy beds. We will stay there again when in Decorah.

Room Tip: The rooms to the North will be quieter and see if you can get a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel is very clean, staff are very friendly. Nice pool and hot tub. Cable for TV was flaky and had to fool around with it to get it to work. Could hear people walking above us. When the next door neighbor and the one above took a shower (at 5:00 am) the water pipes whistled and it was very loud. The room next door left their alarm clock on and it blared at 5:30 a.m., had to call front desk to get them to turn it off, the result of paper thin walls all the way around. Could hear truck traffic starting at 6am. Turned on the heater and it had not been run recently (I'm guessing) and it had a terrible burnt smell so I shut it off.

Room Tip: Get a second floor corner on the end, facing north side away from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndecorah, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the noise issues you encountered. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son's family and 2 grandsons and I all stayed recently at the Country Inn in Decorah. What a clean, comfortable choice! We enjoyed the pool as well as the generous breakfast, and found having a small refrigerator and microwave to be very convenient as well. Very convenient to the new trail around town, also. What most impressed me was the friendly and dedicated service the staff displayed. I mistakenly thought a grandson's blanket had disappeared (turned out he had left it at home) and the staff was so professional and thorough in their investigation. They handled this upset grandma's complaints with patience, and shared desire to find the blanket. Positive experience, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndecorah, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the missing blanket was found!!!. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Friendly hotel staff. Complimentary cookies at check in (and they allowed us an early check in). Good selection of breakfast items (biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, muffins, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, and more. We had some loud people next door and the front desk attendant came down immediately and took care of it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is a great place to rest your feet after you've spent an afternoon and/or evening watching the famous Decorah Eagles and walking along the fabulous trail system they have here. The town is very clean with a vibrant downtown. The Sunday breakfast was tasty. We had scrambled eggs, biscuit w/sausage gravy. There is toast, bagels, fresh fruit and yogurt, coffees, milk and juices to drink, with plenty of seating area. The pool area is clean and the pool is refreshing. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our room faces north, which is a field, so there is a lot of privacy. The ac unit is quiet enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA

Address: 1202 Highway 9 West, Decorah, IA 52101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Decorah
Decorah Country Inn
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, IA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.