We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clarion was "on" when water was "off'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5202 N Brady St, Davenport, IA 52806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Davenport
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clarion was "on" when water was "off'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Due to a water main break the water was off for a few hours during a week long convention I was helping host at the Clarion October 3-7, 2012. The staff at the hotel immediately started working to make the guests as comfortable with the situation as possible. Hundreds of bottles of water were brought in...not only to the front desk but also directly to our convention. Port-a -potties were set up in 4 areas of the parking lot. Signs explaining the situation were placed throughout the hotel.

The Clarion was "on" when the water was "off'...good job!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
RtotJ~~ Thank you so much for taking time to comment about your recent event at our hotel! You were a wonderful group to work with and our entire staff truly appreciated your patience and wonderful sense of humor during the entire convention. Again, thanks for taking time to comment!
Sincerely,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    20
    32
    28
See reviews for
50
12
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northeastern Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We attended the same convention as some of your other reviewers and had exactly the opposite experience. Our room had been redecorated, and was spotlessly clean. Our housekeeper even remembered that we wanted extra coffee (thanks Jeanette). Everything worked perfectly, phones, internet, air conditioner, etc. This is a large hotel and you can expect to walk quite a distance from some rooms to the convention center. We asked for a room away from the pool so we had almost no contact with that area except to walk through and it was empty except for the weekend. We had no complaints with the breakfast service, the buffet was fine. We seldom get any breakfast at convention hotels so this was nice. Dinner service was extremely slow and the food was not up to what we expected. The only night that there was a problem with the hospitality room was after 10:00 PM on Saturday. Wednesday through Friday was great, we had large tables and plenty of room to spread out. On Saturday there were only one or two parties and maybe a dozen kids, not hundreds and we thought they were very well behaved. The staff here is most helpful in every way, from fast check in to providing everything we asked for immediately. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for the third floor. That is where we were and the rooms had been redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Lakeside12~~ Thank you so much for taking time to comment about your recent stay at the Clarion. I am very glad to hear that your experience was so memorable! All our team members take guest service very seriously and Jeanette is certainly one of our team leaders. We were very glad to receive feedback regarding the opportunities we have for improving the dining room experience. We taken action as quickly as possible and I am happy to report that the new restaurant manager started this week. Again, thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely,
Kristin Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

There for 5 nights with a club meeting - the contracted food service was an hour ordeal to get breakfast. The rooms are small with rusty fixtures and past prime carpet. Bathrooms are worn and very cramped with towels that were probably white when new but now grayish. Internet service was difficult and kept cutting out. Weekends have scads of screaming children in the hallways and in the pool area where they apparently rent out tables for birthday pool parties. Wireless phone service inside the buildings was mostly nonexistent. Layout of the buildings is very convoluted making it difficult to find your way around for a large event. There were bright spots in some of the staff that were trying to cope, but overall was not a desirable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dtool~~ Thank you so much for taking time to comment about your recent stay at the Clarion. We were very glad to receive feedback regarding the opportunities we have for improving the dining room experience. We have taken action as quickly as possible and I am happy to report that the new restaurant manager started this week. The observation regarding the appearance of our linen has also been addressed by switching to a new company to provide improved detergents for our laundry department and replacing items that are no longer pristine white.
Although the building configuration can be confusing and the high energy level of excited children can overwhelming, I am very glad to know that members of our staff were a memorable part of your stay. Again, thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience. It is only when we receive honest feedback that we are able to improve our services for the future guests or our hotel.

Sincerely,
Kristin Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently spent four days at this facility to attend a convention. While it was fairly cheap, it was also badly outdated. The first morning, we and most of our fellow convention attendees, had no hot water. Some rooms had no air conditioning. The rooms and public areas are dingy and tired. Free wi fi was available, but it didn't always work. My iPad never connected completely on it. A buffet breakfast was to be included in the room price, which seemed like a good deal. However, there was not enough help available in the dining room. The buffet ran out of food, which, by the way, was exactly the same for all four mornings of our stay. If you wanted coffee, silverware, or a cup, you had to go looking for them. The front desk apparently gave out the wrong buffet tickets and information, and we had to pay for part of our breakfast on one morning. The front desk gave us the correct tickets, but it should have been handled better. Although we chose not to eat lunch or dinner in the restaurant, there were many, many horror stories about the food and service. Apparently, the wait staff there had to prepare much of the food, serve it, bus tables, and deliver room service. It didn't work well. Especially avoid this facility on weekends! Dozens of pool parties were being held in the hotel, which meant that there were hundreds of screaming, wet kids running around. They left the pool area in a mess that the staff seemed to be unable to clean before the next groups arrived. Our group's hospitality rooms faced the pool. We were unable to take our food and drinks to the tables by the pool on the weekend because of the partiers. I don't intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area, especially on weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
IllinoisGrammy~~ Thank you for taking time to comment about your recent stay . We were very glad that your group was so vocal in providing feedback regarding the opportunities we have for improving the dining room experience. We have taken action as quickly as possible and I am happy to report that the new restaurant manager started this week. We are confident that her experience will bring a new level of proficiency and professionalism to the Bistro. Although the high energy level of excited children can overwhelming we do limit the use of our pool to those registered to the hotel and provide wristbands so that our staff can easily identify those who should not be present, though with 288 rooms, it can seem like an abundance of children. Again, thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience. It is only when we receive honest feedback that we are able to improve our services for the future guests or our hotel.

Sincerely,
Kristin Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

room was clean and ready...staff helped find a restaurant "on the river" and made reservations for us which resulted in a great experience...used their free shuttle service to travel downtown and back which is set up for ease in use and very practical...desk and shuttle staff outstanding...very good breakfast buffet

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
raydfb~~ Thank you so much for taking time to comment about your recent stay at the Clarion! We are very proud of our staff and their dedication to guest service.
There are many wonderful attractions in Quad Cities and we are very happy to have shuttle service available to the hub of the action!
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for letting us know that we provided you with a wonderful stay.
Sincerely,
Kristin Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

yes great place at a great price, amazing customer service... has a restaurant, bar, pool, hot tub, game center, nice breakfast buffet, just over all great stay... going back again in 2wks... perfect spot for a weekend get away... you wont be disappointed...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The front desk staff is the reason to come here. They really are nice.

I made the mistake of staying on a Friday night once. I'll NEVER do that again! During the week the place is reasonably quiet if you have an outside room. BUT it is an all night party zone on the weekends. Noisy guests in the hall after midnight and still before 5:00 am. This is an every weekend event as "families" have get-togethers here near the pool area. Some weekends are worse than others and maybe you'll like that kind of thing. I don't.

The place is a tired old hotel. The rooms are old, the bathrooms are old, but the linens are updated. It is for the most part clean. The rates are lower as a result. If yours aren't then you're paying too much. And low vs. high for rates are relative. If you're here during a golf tournement or when Ragbrai is in town, it's every guest for themselves and the rates can be through the roof. It is what it is. Try Des Moines during the State Fair if you don't believe me.

The breakfast is very good in the mornings. No joke, it really is good. But if you just need a quick overnight try the Baymont next to I-80. The Baymont has a lame free breakfast, but it is right off the Interstate.

You need to know that this is a Clarion, not a Comfort Inn. In the "old" days, the Clarions and the Qualitys were above the Comforts. Not anymore. If you like and want a Comfort Inn or Suite, don't stay at any Clarion or Quality. As a rule, the Comforts are nicer and more expensive.

I can stay here, but I choose to no longer do that. I can't stand their catering department they hired some time back. Also, I can't bring in high end outside speakers for meetings and put them up here. It just isn't that nice. For that we'll be paying the extra bucks for the La Quinta, The Lodge, Radisson, etc.

Room Tip: The rooms on the outside are MUCH quieter than the rooms on the inside. Get as far to the west and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 5202 N Brady St, Davenport, IA 52806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Davenport, IA Clarion Hotel and Conference Center offers the best hotel rates in the Quad Cities. Traveling to Davenport with family or on business our hotel is situated to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Davenport
Davenport Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.